Iceland, photography and Road-tripsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Iceland

A paradise for photographers
My 20 pics of Iceland to show you
Which of my photos do you prefer, tell me...

My favorite pics : Gullfoss - Sunrise, photography number 7
1st landscape Inceland kem.jpeg

Check up my instagram https://www.instagram.com/kemtraveler/
Follow me on Steemit @kemtraveler

Like many of you, since I was a kid, I've discovered the world through books, television reports, and photos. I was thirsty for travel.

Having tried different ways to travel, my favorite is to go with a backpack, on foot or motorized, but still moving. This allows to be surprised by the improvisation, to open to others, to learn from them, and especially to continue to grow constantly during his life.

I had a regret, it is to have captured no material memory, that is the reason why almost 4 years ago, I bought my first reflex camera.

More recently, looking at the pictures of Iceland on the internet, as well as videos on youtube, I decided to visit Iceland, to discover its fabulous nature.

So I bought my plane tickets, prepared my backpack and my photo equipment for a trip of 6 days, 5 nights.

Arriving at Keflavik International Airport, I was picking up my 4x4 vehicle, a Nissan Xtrail with studded tires, it's mandatory to ride in the winter, especially in February. Go adventure!

I did not prefer to book the accommodations in advance because I did not know exactly where I could have been because of the Icelandic weather and the road conditions in winter. Driving on icy roads, with very strong winds, with heavy snow falling or driving on a clear road with a beautiful sun.

In winter, there are fewer tourists and I knew that finding accommodation was not very difficult, moreover, most of the time, I booked only an hour before arriving, thanks to an application I had previously installed on my Smartphone.

Roadtrip

If you have any questions or need advice for traveling to Iceland, feel free to ask me in the comments.

Capture d’écran 2018-03-17 à 18.52.41.png
Source Google maps

I only stayed in the golden circle. To succeed to do all the round, along the road number 1, I need more days, a minimum of 11 days, ideally 14-15 days.

During my trip I stopped many times to visit and admire the landscape, but here is where I left and where I slept, total + or - 600 kms :

  1. Kevaflik international airport -> Selfoss
  2. Selfoss -> Vik
  3. Vik -> Gullfoss
  4. Gullfoss -> Reykiavik
  5. Reykaviak -> Kevaflik village (near Kevaflik international airport)

Photography

Photo 1 : Seljalandsfoss waterfall
5th waterfall iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 2 : Road number 365
1st long road iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 3 : Gljufrabui waterfall
4th warterfall Iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 4 : Seljalandsfoss area - midday sun
1st landscape Iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 5 : Seljalandsfoss waterfall
3rd waterfall iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 6 : Around road 365 - ephemeral blue lake
1st lac iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 7 : Gullfoss - Sunrise
1st landscape Inceland kem.jpeg

Photo 8 : Solheimajokull Glacier - at the end of road 221 (It's me on the pics)
3rd glacier iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 9 : Solheimajokull Glacier - Sunset
4th glacier Iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 10 : Heidaras area - Distant Icelandic landscape
2nd landscape iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 11 : Solheimajokull Glacier
1st glacier iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 12 : Solheimajokull Glacier
2nd glacier iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 13 : Skogafoss - I name it "the Rainbow waterfall"
8th rainbow waterfall iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 14 : Skogafoss - I name it "the Rainbow waterfall"
9th rainbow waterfall kem.jpeg

Photo 15 : Reynisfjara Beach - Vik Area
4th Roch Iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 16 : Hallgrimskirkja Church - Reykjavik
1st Church Iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 17 : Reynisfjara Beach - (it's me on the pics)
2nd roch Iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 18 : Raod number 1 - be attentive to see
6th waterfall iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 19 : Farm powered by thermal energy sources
1st electricity farm iceland kem.jpeg

Photo 20 : Reykjavik, houses and streets
1st house iceland kem.jpeg

The last day, I went to the blue lagoon, a beautiful place to bask in turquoise and milky hot water, in a surreal atmosphere because there were gusts of wind and rain. I do not have photos because I could not take my SLR camera with me. This is a place that I advise you to do at least once. https://www.bluelagoon.com

I hope you liked some of my photos, if you have constructive criticism I am a taker in order to progress.
This first trip to Iceland was too short, so I would go back to stay longer and go around the country, and certainly when the nights will not last more than 4 hours.

This was my first contribution to Steemit, maybe I would write another article on a trip to Southeast Asia and post photos...
See you !

@Kemtraveler,

Sort:  

Congratulations @kemtraveler! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you !

I like #6 and #8 and they are all amazing! :)

I shoot a lot out at Sandy's (Oahu, Hawaii). Amazing conditions there!
2waves.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35