The latest photo in my series "Falling Light"

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

About two months ago I started on my first dedicated attempt to create a photo series with a cohesive look, feel and theme. This is my latest addition to the series:

"Violet Great Masterwort"

IMG_7740.JPG

A little about the series

Since the first time I picked up a camera I have been taking photos of flowers. Over the years I have experimented with different types of photography, from still life to portraiture to Landscape and many others. While I was learning and exploring portraiture I took to the museums to take inspiration from the master painters. I was really drawn to the works of Caravaggio and Rembrandt, the way that they used light to describe dimensionality really drew me; also I thought it seems like a fun challenge to try and recreate that look in photography. Over time I started to master some photography techniques that were not only inspired by the likes of Caravaggio but were also fairly distinctly me.

"Reaching For the Light"

FullSizeRender 5.jpg

No matter what I explored as a subject in photography I have always come back to flowers. After recently moving to Seattle where there are flowers blooming every day of the year the number of flower photos in my catalog started growing rapidly. As I started working with them the influence of Caravaggio started to assert itself and light and shape became a primary focus of my photography once again. Once I noticed this theme emerging I decided to focus on it and do a photo series all in the same style, and thus the "Falling Light" series was born.

If you would like to see more of the "Falling Light" series follow me here, or you can check the Falling Light sight out.

Thanks for reading and in advance for your support.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kellyjanderson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great mastery of light! Upvoted and Resteemed!

Thank you for the Resteem! I truly appreciate both the appreciation for my work it shows and the extra promotion.

You are most welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74