My Photography StorysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

First I bought a camera.

It all started in January 2015, I'd just graduated high school and was left with nothing to do. I worked for my dad's business, doing gardening and landscaping and started earning some money. It was January 5th, and boy was it a miserable day, we couldn't get outside and work so we were couped up at home. I jumped on Gumtree (Austraila's Craig's List) and started looking for what i could buy as i was now earning some money. There it was, a Canon 1000D - a basic entry level DSLR. It was perfect. I raced and picked it up straight away.

I bought the camera but what should I take photos of?

This was one of the first photos I ever captured on my camera, and it opened a whole new world of photography for me. It was raining all day and i utilised what was given to me. 

I continued taking photos of everything i could.

Here are a few!


Photography was my new favourite hobby.

After enjoying my first year off school i got accepted into the University Of Newcastle, Australia to study a bachelor of science (my other hobby). I packed my bags and moved from my small comfortable town to a big city where i knew no one. After settling and starting university i met some great friends and my now girlfriend. She is perfect.

We go on adventures all the time.

We wake up early and take photos of the sunrise, 

Stay up late and photograph the moon,

Watch the sunset,

Go on hiking through ancient rain forests,

Surf - she surfs, i take photos. (i am learning)

While taking photos of my girlfriend surfing i caught this doggo staring me down,

Enjoy picnics in pristine rain forests,

This is us,

We booked the trip of a lifetime

Later this year, we are departing Australia to travel the world, starting with Canada! It's going to be mid winter there and i am extremely excited to take advantage of it! It will be my first time capturing photos of snow, glaciers and snowtop mountains!

We are both working extremely hard to make this trip happen, while studying full time. We are worried we won't have enough funds for the trip. I wish to upgrade cameras before leaving as I am still using my old camera, and acquire some equipment  like a new lense, tripod and a travel backpack. My camera is getting old and tired, and lacks the technology i need to better my photography skills. 

Do you know a good website to buy cheap but quality equipment?

Would you be interested in buying prints of my photographs? 

Would you like to see more photographs?

Any help is greatly appreciated, thank you! Every upvote counts! 

Sort:  

@keaganjones what sort of equipment are you looking for? Lenses, tripods, cameras, etc? Your photographs are quite lovely! Keep posting them.

@bruckdashel Thank you! i am looking for all of the above :)

Be careful about purchasing second hand or used lenses. I purchase used camera bodies from Adorama here in NYC. B&H photo also has a bunch of great sales. Remember not to get too into gear! I used the same lens for the first ten years of my work a 70-200 2.8L. I finally bought a second lens, but still love my first. Photography is not about the gear. It is about light and the way you learn how to manipulate it :-) Good shooting @keaganjones!

Congratulations @keaganjones! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49