Lotus Pond in Nongkhai, สระบัวที่หนองคาย

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

IMG_9502.JPG

IMG_9506.JPG

IMG_9530.JPG

Last month I visited the lotus ponds belonging to my Tuk-Tuk driver, Mr. Kam. I had been waiting for the right time when his ponds would be full of lotus flowers. This kind of pink lotus is not the type of lotus that would be normally used in the shrine room or for offering to the Buddha. The pink lotus is harvested for the seeds which can be used as an ingredient in traditional medicine and for cooking or eating them raw. These raw seeds are very popular among the local people and in Laos. Mr. Kam changed his rice fields into lotus ponds which make him much better income than planting rice. This monthly income has made it possible for him to build his own house this year; the house with blue roof. Now, his neighbours and relatives have also followed Mr. Kam's project. Even so, the demand for lotus seeds has continued to exceed the local supply. Therefore, I may start a small lotus pond next year!

IMG_9532.JPG

IMG_9537.JPG

IMG_9519.JPG

IMG_9480.JPG

เมื่อเดือนก่อนสระบัวของนายคำ คนขับรถตุ๊กๆมีบัวออกดอกสะพรั่ง เขาจึงเชิญไปเที่ยวและไปดูบ้านที่เขาพึ่งสร้างเสร็จ ต้องนั่งรถออกไปนอกเมืองประมาณยี่สิบนาที บัวออกดอกเต็มไปหมด สีสวยมากและอากาศดีสุดๆ บรรยากาศเป็นธรรมชาติ ไม่ต้องไปเสียเงินดูดอกบัวที่อื่น ให้มาที่บ้านนายคำดีที่สุด ขายผักบัวและเม็ดบัวทำให้นายคำมีเงินมาสร้างบ้านได้หนึ่งหลัง เพื่อนบ้านและญาติๆก็เลยหันมาทำบ่อบัวกันหลายคน แต่ก็ยังไม่เพียงพอกับความต้องการของตลาดท้องถิ่นและตลาดในลาว ทำให้คิดว่าจะต้องลองปลูกบัวบ่อเล็กๆสักหนึ่งบ่อแล้วกระมัง

IMG_9522.JPG

IMG_9508.JPG

IMG_9523.JPG

IMG_9507.JPG

IMG_9494.JPG

IMG_9505.JPG

IMG_9534.JPG

Wishing you peace, good health and happiness.

Cheers.

Sort:  

Very beautiful pink lotus

Glad you like them! The pond will bloom like this twice a year.
So, next year you can come to take photos!

Cheers.

Wowwww😍😍 It's very nice proto

The week before, there were more lotus flowers! I was a bit late so many flowers have gone.
I'll try again next year. Udon also has a big lake full of lotus, but you have to pay to see those!

Come to Nongkhai, you can see lotus ponds for free.

That pond is very impressive!!!

Right! That's why it is impossible for me to buy such a pond via the Internet!

And the water!!

WOW! Really beautiful pink lotus! There are a lot of them! Nice photos.

I hope you'll have your own pond very soon! That'll be great! ;)

Yeah, I was lucky that Mr. Kam invited me to his home to see his lotus ponds.
I will try to have a small lotus pond one day! Meanwhile I will grow lotus in a big bucket!

Cheers.

That's really great! I used to plant lotus in my little fish pond, they were really beautiful! Unfortunately, it's hard to plant, so there is no lotus in the pond.....now!

Hope to see your own lotus soon! ;)

Yes, I have also lost two lotus plants in my small fish ponds this year. Ideally, I would like to have a real lotus pond, but the earth or soil may not hold the rain and water, so it may dry up.
I have to think about this problem and the solution.

Have a good week!

I do really hope you can solve the problem and get the best solution so that I can see beautiful lotus from your pond very soon! ;)

Have a nice day! ;)

Thank you very @tangmo. When I could mange to do this and have lots of lotus here, I will invite you to come and take their pictures!!

Please be patient. 💐🐢🐳🍁

You're welcome! That'll be really great! Thanks so much for your kind invitation!

Looking forward to seeing your pond with much interest! ;)

Hi! @tangmo. If my pond does not work out next year, you could still come around during the time of the lotus. I'll take you and your friends to see my friend's lotus pond!

Cheers.

So beautiful 😍

Thank you very much! I was lucky that day! The sunshine is out for the lotus!

Cheers.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Krisana from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.97
ETH 3059.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29