Waking up. Thoughts on the importance of living life alive, via an accidental photo.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

3F12DB56-88C7-4402-8668-800DA7D22A4C.jpg


I accidentally snapped this picture while scrolling through my phone this morning.

It's a built in filter from the social media site Facebook, and as I was bleary-eyed and looking through all the social media noise, I accidentally did a series of swipes and button mashes resulting in this photo. I had literally just woken up. The photo, the angle, the filter--all of it--was an accident. Unintentional.

As I was looking through my photos just now, it jumped out at me. I had forgotten about it. Something about this photo just smacks me. It's almost as if someone else took it, and it is an out-of-body slice of time. Makes me feel...almost sad. Like maybe I'm already gone. Then again, I love it. This is life from the observer's viewpoint. A small moment frozen in time, but still very dynamic.

My blue and black checkered underwear in view. The vacuum standing solitary across the room, and the gentle morning light. Before all the hustle bustle, this was the moment of waking. I think we should probably all view our lives from the outside. As observers. As artists. As those who have already passed. Already dead. It is then, I feel, we can truly wake up, and become alive. Live life, alive, and not as sleepwalkers.

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

You are sooo right! So many times i felt like i'm not actually living. As is spending my time doing pointless things and then feeling like a zombie. We may not value our time right now, but one day we'll wish to have those days back. We need to wake up and live in the moment...like make it worthy of your time.

We may not value our time right now, but one day we'll wish to have those days back.

I love this comment. Thanks so much, @emilyb!

Hi Kafka..this post of yours brings positve vibes around us..it's true..instead of living a dull life we must know how to celebrate life with whatever little we have..

Welcome friend ..have a beautiful day ahead..

This is what is also called awareness!
Be aware of everything that you do!
Ask this question to yourself from time to time during the day:
Where am i?
What am i doing?
Am i alive?
Am i sleeping?

By asking those questions you will improove your awareness.

Live life fully, don't just do what you are programmed by the society to do.

@kafkanarchry84 it's seems like my bedroom when I'm alone in my house. I couldn't clean when others were home because I always had an odd fear that I'd miss out on something fun or great. I think the psychology behind that was from being teased & even grounded FROM my room as a child.Lolzz
Add one more follower:))

Hahah. Makes sense, I think. Followed back.

A little slice of life ! Awesomeness !😍💕👍👍👍

Thanks! ✨✨✨👾👾👾🕺🏻🕺🏻👏🏿😜💎

Your welcome!💕💕💕👍👍🎊👍

Man, that reminds me: I really need a better vacuum cleaner... and new black and blue underwear =p

It's good that little moments can grant us that perspective on our lives that let us take ourselves in stride. All our hopes and dreams are wishes in the wind. Live so as to bring joy to others. This DOES have meaning, and folks will remember that time we gave them a busfare, or meal, even when our families have only photos to remember of us.

Wake up. Get out of the house. DO NOT listen to music from your phone or whatever. Just look around. Don't be in a rush. Say hi to a neighbor perhaps.

You'll be surprised how many things we constantly miss out on just right OUTSIDE our own house.

Life is everywhere man. Don't let routine bog you down. Open your eyes.

Good post and nice pic dude.

Wow friend!Impressed by your creative thinking...sometimes creativity brings lives on dead materials also...

I like the filter. A touch of A Scanner Darkly with the shot.

A less detailed version of A scanner Darkly's rotoscoping. That is the the first example that came to my mind also, but I am sure I have seen something similar to this, just can't recall it.

Now, if we could have goggles to see the world through that filter, that'd be nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48