Yellowjackets! Wasp Flight GIFs In Slow MotionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Easily one of the most hated insects: Yellowjackets!
yellowjacket.png


Yellowjackets are common wasps that are easily preturbed and very aggressive. Often they will sting people without any obvious provocation.

Yesterday I saw one of their hole-in-the-ground nests along a trail, and carefully set up the cameras.

These wasps can sting many times before escaping or being killed.

When I was 5 or 6, playing kickball I ran over one of their holes and they flew up the leg of my shorts and stung my ass about a dozen times. It was a bit embarrassing and painful, but thankfully I don't have any severe allergic reactions to their stings. I know many people who have such allergies, and a single sting can be fatal and requires a quick trip to the emergency room.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74