The Asheville Igloo - Excluded From 2010 Photography Collection

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

I just finished a collection of photos from 2010, but decided this was so out of place in that set that I'll be splitting the post.

016-2.jpg
[The Asheville Igloo]
Getting close to the end of 2010 now, and close to the end of this photography collection. I build this igloo December 2010, when the power went out. I was thrilled that the power went out, as it seemed like a rare opportunity for my World Of Warcraft addicted roommates here to perhaps socialize and come play in the snow for a change. They more or less moped around in the dark until the power came back, but that didn't stop me from having a wild meditative experience building this igloo. I wanted to prove that I could create what I envisioned, after they said "good luck, there's no fucking way, besides it's cold out here". So I did it. My strategy for the construction of this igloo involved creating a ring-shaped wall, then building it up higher and curving inward until the hole in the ceiling could be closed off. It was around 6 feet tall, and incredibly strong. I have a video of myself demolishing it a few days later, it easily held my weight as I climbed on top and jumped up and down with great force in my heavy boots. If you build something like this, I recommend putting a single candle inside. It'll warm the entire inside quite nicely, causing the inner layer to thaw, then refreeze into extremely hard ice once the candle is removed. A single candle also lights the interior quite nicely with how bright white and reflective snow is.

015.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86