Gates of Paradise

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

A couple of years ago I was in Florence, Italy. It was paradise for me and my camera, so many beautiful buildings, churches, sculptures, bridges.

And doors.

In this post I want to show you a few details of the Gates of Paradise, which is the main gate of the Baptistry of Florence (Battistero di San Giovanni). It is located in front of the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore.

P1010084 - Copy (3).JPG

Author of the gates was Lorenzo Ghiberti. He made the shiny door between 1425 and 1452. Ghiberti was local sculptor and goldsmith. He did an amazing job by portraying scenes from the Old Testament.

P1010084 - Copy (2).JPG

It is not a surprise that the door became an icon of the Renaissance. The Gates of Paradise are seventeen-foot-tall and weigh three-tons.

P1010084 - Copy (4).JPG

According to The Lives of the Artist by Giorgio Vasari, the door—once known just as the East Door—was named the Gates of Paradise by Michelangelo Buonarroti because of its striking beauty.
Source

P1010084 - Copy (5).JPG

I am not a big fan of golden colors but these gates are a breathtaking piece of art that even I can't resist.

P1010084 - Copy (6).JPG

I was actually preparing a post from Florence and Tuscany in general but the Gates of Paradise, I decided eventually, deserves its own post.

I hope one day I visit Florence again and take an even closer look around. I am sure I missed a lot.

Have a lovely day :)

Sort:  

This is beauty in artifacts.
A seventeen feet golden gate, Lorenzo Ghiberti must have been a genius
And @k4r1nn the photographer, exquisit angles, nice shots.

Nice Picture k4r1nn ! :D
We would love to invite you to our Discord server.
In here we have more artists for you to connect to and
the ability to promote yourself and your blogs. Keep on Steemin my friend !
http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

Door was so beautiful just like gold plated ☺

They definitely deserve it.

You're right... its an amazing work of art that even inspired Michelangelo!

Wow this is wonderful photography and really look.
@k4r1nn
Resteem

Gates of Heaven are so cute.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86