(Canadian) Thanksgiving Exercise :)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

This was a very unusual week for me. So many things have happened I could barely keep track.

sdfghjkl;.jpg

Monday evening was the blues night. I went to see the sold-out show of an excellent musician Joe Bonamassa. I could not have picked a better concert to wrap up my 2017 concert list. I have bought the ticket long ago in the beginning of the summer and almost forgot about it when the school started. It was a fabulous evening in the Edmonton Northern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium.

Here is one of the songs. 'No Good Place For The Lonely'


Source

The week continued and there I was, back in my lab. On Wednesday I was determining the amount of Manganese in the steel sample. I believe it was the longest experiment we will be performing this semester - it took me and my partner full four hours to finish.
At least we got some pretty nice colors at the end.

22369027_10212612629084780_1018910901_o.jpg

Friday brought a bit more relaxing atmosphere when me and my boyfriend attended the Thanksgiving dinner that International Students Club organized. We had a lovely meal with other students where we met a few new people and were reminded that we are not alone in hard and the nice times.
It was a nice start of a long Thanksgiving weekend.

22396439_10212612637004978_838794726_o.jpg

22369054_10212612637284985_380626062_o.jpg

This week we also had a few snow flakes. This was a harsh realization that with the end of harvesting season also comes snow and winter.

22404295_10212612650645319_238014948_o.jpg

Rest of the week was spent in a cozy living room covered with blankets like the kitty below. Best part!

22404164_10212612659005528_508774732_o.jpg

Just this week I have at least 9 things to be thankful for:

  • listening to Joe Bonamassa performing live
  • learning more chemistry
  • eating delicious Thanksgiving dinner(s)
  • staying healthy during the flu season
  • daily morning cup of coffee
  • supporting boyfriend
  • understanding and kind parents
  • working vehicle
  • (often forgotten) excellent internet accessibility

And the last 10th thing I am grateful for this week is surpassing 500 followers.

DQmfSuq29tZiVejJtHy5kNdWLzm4XJABDAbd6azkiw28bmz.png

I know that not all 506 of you are able to see my posts in the sea of all the great posts you are bombarded with every day. However, I appreciate everyone on the other side of the blockchain. Only together we will build and improve the Steemit community.

I am still glad to be a part of it!

Make sure you do not forget about your little daily miracles that make your day less stressful.

And finally - Happy Thanksgiving to all Canadians! Enjoy the last day of the long weekend :)

Sort:  

Wow, so many things happened to you last week... And still the main part was, that it wasn't all about learning, but you still managed to take time for you and your loved ones and enjoyed every free moment you had. Not forgetting about 500+ followers - well done!

Yeah, sometimes it is hard to take time away from studying as I feel I will not have enough time later on. It was worth it at the end and I had all weekend to relax a little. Thanks for support I send you kind regards ;)

Really nice post, I'm glad to hear about all your achievements this week. It's nice to see what you appreciate in life. I unfortunately didn't stay healthy during the flu season but I got away with just cough so I guess it could be worse :) Greetings from Dubai.

Thanks @penticton! You cant always get everything I guess. I had some hard times also recently but everything settled and I learned to appreciate the good stuff even more.

the water inside the pycnometer is made of what ??

The volumetric flasks are a solution of digested steel in concentrated sulfuric acid, nitric acid, phosphoric acid and some other chemicals that help the isolation of Mn2+ (manganese) ions from the steel that make the solutions such nice pink/purple color. Really fun lab but we were dealing with hazardous chemicals so we had to be very careful.

thanks a lot for his information, your explanation is very detailed, now I know where the water color

No idea what you guys are talkin bout?

We are talking about the purple flasks on one of my photos above @kmabbasi.

You got one more. .

wow nice post i like it

wonderful photography and lovely video sharing

Thank you!

Excellent photography.

I am glad you like it.

Truly, you did things like this and that.. .. which really made your week wonderful.
My warm Thanksgiving greetings to all Canadians out there.!

Thank you, it was nice to have a little bit of celebration going on.

Thanks for sharing and nice photography.
100% like and resteem

Good choice of id ...

this post is so amazing, I'm so inspired to keep working hard on steem.

@fantasticmonkey you should never give up on Steemit. It takes a bit of effort but also gives reward and self improvement :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77