'I want to be a photographer' TBC - Collaboration? Yes! + film camera images

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hey hello!

So referring to my rant in recent post let's focus on positives now :)
After a few months of people ghosting on me, not following through finally photoshoot happened last Sunday.
It started with one photo group on Facebook, there was a shout out for any photographers based in London. Four of us strangers connected and one of them suggested we do mock wedding photoshoot that will hopefully get us paid clients since wedding season is in bloom now.
So we divided tasks between each other with the aim of not investing any money for it, but getting brands to work with us. So I was responsible to get make up artist and florist, guys were to find models (a couple) and other photographer to get a wedding dress company to give us a dress for the shoot.
It all sounds easy but it's not. Finding make up artist and florist seemed a challange. Most of them won't do unpaid collaboration, you need to pay for their time as well as materials. But hey keep on researching Instagram world. In the end, I've managed to find a make up artist that was OK with not getting paid and only to receive images she can use to launch her website, she was an absolute star! Finding models seemed the quickest..Few obstacles on the way - one photographer dropped out after not getting quick response from wedding dress company and since the rest of us three photographers didn't agree on her idea to buy a dress specifically for the shoot.
Amazing plan started to fall apart.
Determination, determination...I've picked up the phone to ask my sister if she can lend her wedding dress for the photoshoot. We could still do casual outfits and pretend it's engagement session, but not really a point in that if we want to get images towards wedding portfolio. Luckily my sister agreed so we got the dress and we could arrange location scouting. We chosen Regent's park 6.30am, perfect lighting, no crowds.

Fast forward we met last Sunday, early morning - we sacrificed that lie-in for the sake of art :).
All went well , it was great to hang out with other creative people and it was a good lesson too. I know now that I have to practice more on poses itself and instructing models how to act in front of the camera. Other guys were great with that, so I definately took some lesson home with me from that. And I'm more than happy to do another proper photoshoot, but this time me, model & make up artist. It was a bit of a crowd having three photographers at the location, I got a feeling that even though we agreed not to get in each other's way we somehow did. But again good lesson, good experiance, points to consider for the future. Practice makes perfect!

Time for results! :)

65670016.JPG

65670020.JPG

65670012.JPG

65670013.JPG

65670007.JPG

65670015.JPG

65670021.JPG

65670029.JPG

65670033.JPG

Models: Amber & Philip
IG: @bluebirdandthorn & @philipamour

Make up artist: Doon
IG: @donebydoon

📷 Me
IG: @justy_szadkowska

Shot with Minolta Dynax 7000i
Kodak film 35mm ISO 200

IMAGES WERE NOT EDITED

What do you think? Let me know in comments please.
I'm absolutely in love with film at the moment, you don't need any presets and all that editing stuff and still you're getting those grainy images with great mood..I'm crazy in love!!!
I have a whole rucksack of film cameras...Currently trying to figure out how to work Kodak Instamatic 100 produced in 1963-66 in USA. Check out here what it can do:


I hope mine is working, currently at the stage of trying to rewind the film manually in the darkness hahaha. Wish me luck :)
Who would like to see some double exposures from that camera?
Let me know :)

Thanks for passing by!
Justyna xx

Sort:  

wow, awesome shots; loved the hustle and he way you guys did this :D

you are welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73