You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 100 Followers! -Here is a view from my window (Small Giveaway)

in #photography7 years ago

To be completely honest? I found Steemit through TheShadowBrokers' dump of NSA hacking tools because I wanted to take a look at what kind of stuff was in WannaCry.

I'm really glad I'm a geek XD

Sort:  

Is there something about Steemit I should know? That sounds worrying!

Nah, there's nothing wrong with Steemit XD some people just like to exploit vulnerabilities and do bad things with them. WannaCry probably would've happened whether or not Steemit was around; in fact, it's probably a good thing that the files were dumped on the clear net because it's way easier for software developers to find them and fix the vulnerabilities.

but yeah a hacker group named TheShadowBrokers hacked the NSA and dumped their tools on here. It's not much different from trolls, in my opinion; there's nothing we can do about it without ruining it for everyone. and personally I think it's fine - WannaCry didn't come from TheShadowBrokers anyway.

I actually have a lot of respect for some of these hacking groups precisely because they are willing to expose 'sensitive information'. I understand national security and all that, but why should government agencies be allowed to hide their secrets behind the so-called national interest. Why shouldn't we know our TV's are spying on us? The average person commits 3 chargeable offences a day without even realising it, so this kind of invasion has the potential to give individuals or entities power to ruin lives for the sake of a few extra $'s.

Yeah, I agree there. Who can keep the government in check if we don't know they're abusing power?

Unfortunately, people are often going to use things to their advantage in immoral ways and so someone turned it into ransomware.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67755.59
ETH 3831.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67