Mobile phone photography

in #photography7 years ago

I got a new phone upgrade, the Huawei P9, last week and decided to see if the new smart phones were as good as they say they are as far as their camera capabilities. I must say I was pleasantly surprised.

I decided that I was going to test product photography using a basic home kit that anyone could use and produce photos that looked they were taken with a DSL camera. Well I will let you decide for yourself.

The first one I chose was this one.

Picture1.jpg

I must say I was quite impressed with the quality it produced.

Picture2.jpg

Sometimes compositional rules are there to be bent. Carrying on with testing what Smart phone only can achieve these days. Played with light position and bouncing light back to the shadow areas.
All in all, I am impressed with how far the cameras on smartphones have come in the last few years.

Picture4.jpg

Experiment 3 with a smartphone, and it was way more complex than I thought. These types of images are relatively easy to achieve with dslr cameras, not so much with smartphones. Getting enough continuous light to get a fast enough shutter speed to freeze the water movement and capture a crisp image with a smartphone is not easy to achieve in this instance, this is an area, that I will need to put more thought and experimentation into. Unfortunately the resultant image is nowhere near what my dslr can get.

Picture3.jpg

Here are 3 tips to get this photo:

  1. Angle the light on background to create a gradient,
  2. Set custom white balance (if possible) and
  3. Play with camera angle to get a nice reflection.

The question is always asked: What is the best camera to have? The answer.... the one you have on you.

Sort:  

Fantastic pictures. I like it very much.
Especially the first one.. awesome shot :D
...and thank you for the tips!

ha, I m amazed this was done by smartphone. where are we going... :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67