How to Upload 360 Photo to Facebook

in #photography6 years ago

Recently I shot a 360 panorama photo with my DJI Spark.

Sphere View

After stitching using DJI iPhone app and importing to my computer, I uploaded the file to Facebook, but it was not recognized as a 360 photo (a 360 photo will have a round icon on bottom right).

It took me a while to get this right.

How facebook recognize a 360 photo

It is not as simple as the help center says.

It requires Facebook's Head of Immersive Imaging to explain, and it still didn't work for me.

But I figured it out.

1. Must be JPEG format

First, the format must be JPEG. When I export my photo, it is a PNG.

To convert PNG to JPG, I use my handy command:

sips -s format jpeg the-photo.png --out .

2. Add EXIF metadata

Then as the Facebook head explained, they recognize with the Exif XMP tag in the file. It must have a ProjectionType=equirectangular.

To add that metadata, first you need a tool. Install using brew install exiftool on your terminal.

Then add like this:

exiftool -ProjectionType="equirectangular" the-photo.jpg

Now you can upload.

Another tip: After uploading, click on the settings icon on bottom right > Select Starting View.

Sort:  

Nice Picture junda ! :D
We would love to invite you to our Discord server.
In here we have more artists for you to connect to and
the ability to promote yourself and your blogs. Keep on Steemin my friend !
http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

Don't want to receive messages from us ?
Type @smartmediagroup STOP in a reply to us.
Note: there is no reply on this stop feature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29