"FIRE IN THE SKY" - BIG BUDDHA, THAILAND

in #photography4 years ago

BIg Buddha Sunset FINAL.JPG

Seeking the perfect shot at sunset in Phuket.

6:45pm.

We saw crowds starting to leave as we arrived. Again, we'd underestimated the traffic in Thailand, as well as the time it would take to ride up the windy ascent to the hilltop where Big Buddha sat. But that wasn't going to stop us, especially when we had a full 15 minutes before Big Buddha closed for the day. And trust me, give a travel photographer 15 minutes and an incredible location to work with and they can make some magic. So we hopped out of the van and set to work scoping out shots.

7:05pm.

The temple security kept telling visitors that they had to leave. And I kept walking behind them to the areas that they'd just left, trying to squeeze in some more time before I was approached.

The Big Buddha grounds were already supposed to be closed 5 minutes ago. But the colors of sunset were painting a canvas in the sky that I didn't know if I'd EVER see again.

7:10pm.

The chanting of the meditating monks grew to a feverish pitch, and I waited. I could see the composition of the image I sought...I just needed a few more clouds to move.

Finally, as I bent down and pushed my camera through an opening, seeking to capture the swaying metal leaves in the foreground and the silhouetted Buddha in the background, I felt the security walking my way to give the ultimatum...

I clicked the shutter.

And this photo was born.

I will never forget seeing this image come to life right before my eyes.

Thailand was full of memories, and this one is one that will remain with me forever.

(Shot on a Canon 5D Mark IV with the 24-70 f/2.8 EF lens.)

Sort:  

You're sneakyyyy! Haha

Beautiful shot though!

Good to see you posting again!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha yuppp I’m back!! Miss ya friend! Hope you’re doing well 😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @jumpmaster, your post has been reviewed by the TravelFeed content team, but it does not qualify for an upvote since you did not post through TravelFeed.io.

Feedback

Based on your post, we have the following feedback for you:

  • We noticed that you did not publish your post through TravelFeed.io or edited your post on other Steem frontends. For better-looking blogs, we recommend you use our EasyEditor. As a bonus, when you post through our platform, you receive double upvotes from us, you are eligible for the top pick of the day (resteem + featured on the TravelFeed.io front page) and you can earn extra rewards from being featured in our daily curation posts. You can simply login with your existing Steem account using Steemconnect or Steem Keychain. See you next time on TravelFeed.io!
  • Your post will be hard to find. With the location picker in the TravelFeed.io editor you can easily add a location to your post to improve its discoverability.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@elsaenroute (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66