You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Animal photography: identify this creature and win SBI (updated - we have a winner already)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Very well! So, I'm living in Mérida, Yucatán
Let me tell you, at first, I also thought there was some abuse to the animals in captivity, I had to spend a considerable time living with the animals to realize that it is not as bad as it seems for several reasons ... The "tricks" that they perform are part of their natural behavior in wildlife, they live more than twice as many years under human care (there is a record of 62 years), the diet they receive is truly appropriate for each of the dolphins. In short, I see him as the football stars, they have luxuries, they live well, they have a good quality of life, but they need to "work" doing what they like to do.

Sort:  

Thank you for this interesting insight Juan. I totally see your points but I think I will never be able to consider large marine mammals like doplhins or even orcas to be happy when they are kept somewhere. You know their natural territories in the sea cover hundreds - if not thousands of square kilometers and while they surely show some playful behaviour in the wild, they are definitely not used and anatomically designed for carrying tourists etc. This is my opinion. But I am no expert though, just a devoted nature lover and animal rights advocate. Do you still work in Puerto Aventuras or what is your current job?

I was working as a dolphin trainer, but now I'm studying a Master of Science at the Autonomous University of Yucatan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68539.09
ETH 3904.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62