📷 🌿 Curious Facts About Baobab or : Why I Love this Tree?

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

You must have heard (or read) a lot of talk here in my blog about a tree called Baobab. I love this tree. Not only because of its beauty, that draws attention very much to who it sees, but by the energy that emanates from it. This tree has aspects that I greatly admire, such as its originality, strength, simplicity, spontaneity and a unique beauty. In the middle of all the trees I see in the park, she stands out for not following the metric and the characteristic that we see in other examples of other trees.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I, a few months ago, presented Baobab here on my blog, but I could not express it more deeply about it, so I would like in this post, to share with you some more curious facts that I discovered about this tree that I admire very much.

Let's go to them:

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

  • Baobab is a tree that is known as the "Tree of Life" because it has the characteristic of being a tree that can live many, many years, can reach up to 6000 years of existence.

  • Its scientific name "Adansonia Digitata" is a tribute to the French researcher Michel Adanson, who was the first to report the existence of this type of tree.

  • In Africa, more specifically in Senegal, Baobab is considered a sacred tree, used as a source of inspiration in the arts and in religious rites. According to a Senegalese legend, if a dead man is buried in a trunk of the Baobab, his soul will remain alive as long as the tree exists.

  • The broad trunk of the Baobab is due to the fact that it stores a lot of water, and can store up to 120,000 liters of water in its trunk. For it, she is dubbed as the "Bottle Tree".

  • Like the trunks of the Baobab are very broad, in some African countries mainly, it is common to find Baobab logs that have been adapted to serve as dwellings, bars, churches and even prisons.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

These were some curious facts about the Baobab. Thanks for reading my post and stay tuned for the next posts!

Essas foram algumas curiosidades sobre o Baobá.Obrigado por ter lido o meu post e fiquem atentos às minhas próximas postagens!


All photos are my own, signed in © and taken with my Sony Alpha ILCE 3500.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sort:  

I knew Baobab at first in a book Le Petit Prince. The tree is so beautiful.

The writer Antonie Saint Exupery was inspired by a Baobab that has here in my city to be able to put in his book. Antoine visited Recife and was enchanted by the tree. :D

You know this tree also fascinates me! Nice to know those curiosities :)

Love those trees! I added this post to the @Steemit Twitter Queue.

Thank you @hilarski :)

Stunning Post
Definitely one of my favorite trees too!
Don't know if you have read my post on them, if you haven't and want to, here is the link:
https://steemit.com/travel/@breezin/the-amazing-baobab-tree-south-africa-you-think-this-tree-is-awesome-there-s-more-to-it-read-on
I am sure it will add to the reasons why YOU LOVE THIS TREE!!!
ONE LOVE~ @breezin

I will read for sure. Thank you @breezin :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62690.68
ETH 2463.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62