Photography: Montreal in the rain

in #photography7 years ago

One of my favorite things to do in any city is to get out my camera and just wander aimlessly, snapping pictures along the way. These days had no purpose other than to take pictures, grab a cup of coffee, read a magazine or book, and just relax. I always had my music playing on my headphones. This particular day I am about to show was a great day for pictures. Most people would not run out into the rain to take pictures but I think it is the perfect backdrop for a certain type of picture and Montreal as a city helped amplify that overall feel I was looking for.

Armed with my trusty Canon 5D Mark II i headed out into the rain and I think got a few nice pictures along the way. I stayed mainly in the downtown area of Montreal. This is most touristy part of the city but the rain provided way to look at the typical tourist shots that everyone who visits Montreal ends up taking.

_MG_0384.jpg

The above picture for example is of a statue near McGill University that is often the subject a tourist photos but I think this one captures the art work in a unique way using rain as a main feature.

_MG_0372.jpg

This street is normally swarming with people running from store to store or sitting out in cafes but on this cold rainy Sunday there barely was a car and I love that I got that person walking across the street at the right moment. The photographer in me would want all the cars and people in the background out of the frame but hey I think it turn out alright in the end.

_MG_0343-2.jpg

This is a personal favourite of mine. The rain started to come down a little heavy at this point but I knew the combo of the graffiti and someone walking by would pay off. I waited for about 20 mins before a poor soul without his umbrella wandered by to get this shot. I love that they both have their heads down.

_MG_0418.jpg

This shot was taken by the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Not the greatest shots but I like it anyway.

So there is my little snap shot of Montreal in the rain. I hope you enjoy it and stay tuned for more photography, I got lots!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51