Photographic Travel time: Coney Island, NY

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

For someone not from New York, Coney Island is a strange place. Sitting at the very very far end of the subway line it takes some effort to get there. It is a little bit of a cheesy place to the outsider with its American circus theme, cheap shops, and fast food shops but you also cool waters and waves as counterpoint to all that american made cheese. I was immediately in love with the place as you can imagine. I went straight for a Nathan's hot dog because this is what you apparently do in Coney Island and O began to wander the boardwalk .

_MG_8198.jpg

_MG_8258.jpg

As you can see it was a quiet day (weekends tend to be busier) which was perfect because I had the boardwalk, beach, and side streets all to myself.

_MG_8199.jpg

After wander the boardwalk for an hour, I went in and out of the side streets that are closer to the Coney Island theme park. They were lined with shops that had there sheet metal gates pulled shut and with a few shady looking characters wandering the streets with me.

_MG_8212.jpg

So I did what any tourist in Coney Island would do. I hit the rides!

_MG_8255.jpg

_MG_8250.jpg

The above is a view from the WonderWheel!

Dont forget to follow me @jpreport, upvote and check out my other posts with more to come. A comment or two would be great too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40