5 Advanced Photography Methods Experimented In Cameron Highlands

in #photography6 years ago

I've been wanting to do these photos for a long time, but never had much of a chance in the city. But last week while at a retreat in a beautiful colonial mansion (OMF Bungalow) in Cameron Highlands (map here), I had my golden opportunity to pull out lots of gear and do what I love to do. So let me share some of them with you here:

#1 - Long Exposure Photography

While not my first time doing long exposure photos, it's my first time doing it:

  1. On a highland - previously only done on beaches and city
  2. Using my Daisee square filters - seriously good stuff here. No colour tinting and reasonable price (cheaper than B+W and even Nisi). You can buy them from Leomax in Malaysia. Very nice chap.
  3. Using my Laowa 9mm f2.8 lens. Superb lens!


#2 - Astrophotography

I've to admit, this is my first time trying this out. Virtually impossible to do in the city due to light pollution, astrophotography is something that we can only do in near total darkness and cloudless skies.

Can you see Leo there?

Yeah, neither can I. Haha, I'm not 100% pleased with the outcome, but happy that I did manage to catch some stars!

#3 - Brenizer Portrait

The Brenizer Method is a very special way of making photos look like they are taken with a super large format camera and large aperture lens. Here's a photo I took using my Fujifilm 56mm f1.2 lens but stitched about 10 photos to achieve this. 


#4 - Aerial  Family Portrait

Finding a unique composition for a family portrait with a drone is actually harder than I thought. This is because with my drone, the depth of field is extremely large and the angle of view is also wide. Not something that people would consider to shoot portraits with. But a drone has one thing that no camera can do. It can fly!


#5 - Aerial Panorama Group Photo

So if you think a family portrait is tough, what about a group photo of 10 adults and 11 kids? I'm pretty proud of this photo using my drone and a 180 degrees panorama.

Gear

Well, here's a shot of the table in my room. What I took up was:

  1. Fujifilm X-T2
  2. Four lenses - 8mm f2.8 fisheye, 9mm f2.8, 35mm f1.4 and 56mm f1.2
  3. Two drones - Mavic Air and DJI Tello (for the kids to play)
  4. Tripod
  5. Set of Daisee square filters (ND1000 and GND64 and CPL)
  6. Baby bottles and milk powder (to feed the baby)

Bonus 1 - #6 - 360 Aerial Panorama

Absolutely beautiful, especially in the morning. Check it out ---> HERE

Bonus 2 - #7 - I See A Ghost Photo

And this is what happens when an inquisitive kid pokes his head during a long exposure session! @khimgoh

Hope you enjoyed the photos. I certainly enjoyed taking them!

Sort:  

Fantastic shots! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks mate!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-31T05:52:42
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Great post..... Keep on photographing :)
Upvote

Regards
@hadimemories
Organizer The Flying Photographer Contest [Photo & Video Drone] & Steemit Drone Lovers - Community
SAVE_20180509_170115.png


Join on discord channel Steemit Drone Lovers - Community https://discord.gg/sbvk4wb

Congratulations @joshuakhoo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82