San Javier

in #photography7 years ago

hello friends of steemit, in this opportunity I want to share with you an experience that lasted 6 magnificent years and that corresponds to my high school studies.


1016867_10201592858123762_1826267750_n.jpg

View of the Sierra Nevada from Mérida

At the age of 12, I went to a school called San Javier del Valle Grande belonging to the Fe y Alegría organization, which is located in the state of Mérida, a very beautiful entity in Venezuela.



San Javier seen from the dormitory building of male students


San Javier the patron of our high school


Below I will show some of your space, and the view that can be seen from them.


The Bolívar peak reflecting the light of sunset


The plaza or the patio (as we say) of the high school on any given afternoon


view of the bedrooms and living rooms


The lagoon


The halls of the workshops where we learned to work


The mountains behind the workshops


The entrance of the workshops


Garden


Ladies bedrooms



Noon in the yard




11755791_10207772103166346_50033925343931147_n.jpg


One afternoon in high school


San Javier del Valle is an boarding school founded by the Jesuit Father Jose Maria Velaz, with the purpose of providing education to the population of scarce resources, the boarding school grants the title of average technician in 5 work areas; mechanical maintenance, textile, agricultural, carpentry and ceramics, within this has other specialties such as electricity and welding, has a cowgirl and various workshops where you learn to work according to the branch chosen by the student.


The school offered me a good education but it was 8 hours from my home, you can imagine how difficult it is emotionally for a child to get away from his family at the age of 12 years, my first year it cost me a lot to adapt to what that would be my new home, but after many hours of nostalgia and sadness I adapted to that paradise, which has given me the best years of my life, the reasons for this are many, but one of the most important is that instead of have friends I had brothers, my classmates and work with whom I shared so many moments, since we woke up at 5:00 am until we went to bed 9:30 pm, teachers became more than educators our second parents, not they only gave us the academic training but they were also our guides and counselors in the moments of difficulty, they oriented us to be people of dignity and honesty, to earn the bread of each day and to fight for the goals that we could have, each day we learned something new, and something that I will never tire of is to see the beautiful landscape that gave us, the view may be the same but the contrast were so diverse, that's why I say the days at my school were never the same , despite not being able to leave the facilities, we had so much freedom to run through the paddocks to herd the cattle, attend to the animals that gave us sustenance, interact with nature.

Studying and working have not been as easy for me as it was my high school, they only gave us one hour to do the tasks that the teachers placed us, since the rest of us were busy in the workshops, but it was not an obstacle. have so much time, inspiration gave me the same environment in which I was, it was magical to be there, studying, working sharing with friends, doing the dynamics of recreation, honestly there is no way to express how marked one is with said experience.


Some of my classmates


My study group

I owe so much to my school, for so many moments of joy, sadness, nostalgia, triumphs, so much was the attachment and the habit of being there that on the day of our graduation none of our study group wanted to go, of what we call our second house or as they told us there the glass box.

Sort:  

Nice photography. That looks like a beautiful area, with some really nice landscapes to enjoy. I don't know if I would have been able to handle boarding school, though!

I was in Mérida once, but not the one in Venezuela :-)

Yes, it is a wonderful place, almost magical and very diverse in contrast. And well there are 3 Meridas, I do not know the one from Spain, nor the one from Mexico, but the one from Venezuela more than knowing her I love her

Hehe, yeah. I saw Mérida, Spain. For three years, I lived in Andalucía :-)

Awesome Photography!

They are beautiful landscapes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59