Photo Bio # 2 - Fresh Perspective

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

At a very young age, around 1993 I was gifted my first camera. It was an automatic film camera, with no zoom, no flash, and it was neon pink, my favorite color. See below, hanging on my Grandma’s fridge.

It gave me the chance from a very young age to learn how to capture moments visually. Nothing beat the feeling of getting a roll of film developed that took several months to take. There would be pictures of old Lego creations, snowmen that melted away, relatives who I haven’t seen in a while, and plenty of other fun things shot from a low perspective, my perspective. I can’t encourage people enough, if you have a child who can walk and has the coordination to pick up and set down toys, give them a digital camera! You’ll be amazed how well they can pick up the concept, and you will be able to see things from their unique perspective.

And here is a shot that I took of a dinosaur I built out of lego at age 4. Sure it doesn’t look like anything special, but it was an early start!

When did you get your first camera?
Sort:  

This has to be one of the most relatable posts I have read so far on steemit.

There would be pictures of old Lego creations, snowmen that melted away, relatives who I haven’t seen in a while, and plenty of other fun things shot from a low perspective, my perspective

Yep, shooting just about anything and everything within range was exactly my kind of fun as a kid too! It's a lot of fun looking back at some of those! I think I got my first camera at the age of 8 to 10 years old.

HPIM1301.JPG
those self-portrait skills though

I was also lucky enough to have access to a computer with a version of Corel paintshop pro on it. Needless to say, I was toying around in there too once I discovered it.

Vake-de-robot.jpg
this one's lit!

Corel Paintshop was amazing! While our computer lacked graphics power it could run Corel alright. We got a copy with a cheap drawing tablet way back. I recall the brushes being so realistic. Did you ever use KidPix?

Yeah Corel Paintshop was awesome indeed :)
I never used KidPix though. I went straight from several versions of Paintshop to Photoshop. That switch was kind of a turning point too actually. Once I started using Photoshop, I finally started to learn about proper editing techniques and such. In all my time using Paintshop, I never used layers. I worked super destructive (who needs layers when you can cut out a subject with the eraser tool?).

Congratulations @jonathansippel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63