Johnnie C's Favorite National Parks - Yellowstone

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I mentioned in my last Johnnie C's Favorite National Parks post that the focus on wildlife was a teaser for the next park I'd cover. I love seeing wildlife when I'm out hiking, camping, kayaking or backpacking and no place I've ever been has wildlife like Yellowstone has wildlife. The crazy thing is that wildlife isn't even what the park is the most famous for. This park is amazing! With its unique geothermal features like geysers, bubbling mud, and the incredible Grand Prismatic Spring you'd think this park already had more than its share of splendor, but guess what?! It also has dramatic waterfalls, beautiful mountains, and lots and lots of wildlife!

Yellowstone is home to 61 different mammal species including bears, wolves, moose, elk, bison, badgers, otters, foxes, deer, bighorn sheep, and many more! The big mammals are what really makes this place unique. Years ago, on a backpacking trip around Heart Lake I got to see some moose and their size blew me away.

Here are some photos from my trip!

Check out my earlier posts in the series at:
https://steemit.com/nature/@johnniec/johnnie-c-s-favorite-national-parks-introduction
https://steemit.com/nature/@johnniec/johnnie-c-s-favorite-national-parks-olympic-national-park-washington
https://steemit.com/nature/@johnniec/johnnie-c-s-favorite-national-parks-wildlife















Sort:  

It's a very nice place to see

Yes, it is amazing! If you go in the summer, be ready for lots of people and traffic though.

Some nice shots in an amazing National Park. Is the last shot bison?

Yep! When they were closer, I was too busy taking video!

You got a 2.74% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @johnniec!

Please upvote this comment to support the service.

You just planted 0.40 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johnniec

We have planted already 6675.31 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22149.84
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28