Talking about beggars on street

in #photography7 years ago

In my previous post I mentioned that I do not often photograph homeless people or beggars as I would not like to exploit their current situation.

This specific photo does include one of those typical street singers one finds quite often in China. They are normally physically handicapped and they will choose a location where their handicap will attract more pity from the passersby. They even choose a very low stance (sitting or lying down) to make it as obvious as possible that they are physically handicapped (and they do not necessarily have a great voice).

_jvw2267.jpg

This specific photo I took in a subway in Hong Kong. The subject of my photograph was not the beggar, but rather the old man. We entered the subway simultaneously and I was immediately fascinated by his gentlemen-like look and walk. I decided to follow him to see if it will not result in a photograph.

When I heard the distinctive sound of a typical musician (beggar) I increased my pace in order to get in front of the old gentleman. When I reached the singer I was far enough ahead to turn around and see whether I could create a photo with the beggar and the gentleman in the same frame.

It was at this time that luck turned my way; The gentleman stopped, took out his wallet and look for some change to give to the beggar. I managed to get one photo before he became aware of me.

I just smiled and walk away.

Sort:  

Nice story to go with the photo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77