Sort:  

I made a last minute decision yesterday to work from home today, work may be a stretch of the word, but I have a few things to do that I can do at home,

At least nobody controls, if you are really working, and when the work is done, everything is fine.
I would love to work at home sometimes - I have done it before, when I had urgent and important projects, and because I have done a good and fast job, nobody did mind, but at our company it's not usual to work at home.

Here they are trying to reduce the amount they are paying for renting office space in NYC which is super expensive so they are pushing telecommuting and hot-desking ie you find an open cubicle and use it for the day, so telecomuting is not only a possibility but welcomed.
I don't mind hot-desking or Flexible workspace as they call it as I am always the first one in so I could use the same desk everyday, but for the moment where I am we have assigned desks

I do know this "hot-desking" too, but it is not practicable here, because we still have too much paperwork and thus couldn't work on another desk each day...
For some projects, working at home would even be better, but as said before - that's not usual and not wanted in my company.

I am quite glad its an option for me now, I now keep most of my files online so I have it in the cloud so I can access pretty much all I need from anywhere

If it was my choice, we would have 90% less paperwork, but unfortunately it isn't.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know many companies are still like that only the need to cut costs caused the change for our company for years paper was the only way to get things done here,

Alone the space we need to store all this paperwork could be used better.

When I say, that we don't need to print everything, then I hear questions like "what if the server goes down, if the harddisks fail...".
Nobody trusts in our backup systems.
I don't care anymore - I won't be able to change anything, apart from my own work.

Hopefully the younger employees, who follow the old ones will think different.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59484.75
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41