You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Part 3: Sunset on the Mountain / Teil 3: Sonnenuntergang am Berg

in #photography5 years ago

I don't trust Lightroom, because the catalogue has crashed a few times and all image settings were gone.
Maybe, because I have all images and the catalogue on this external harddisk, which I use at home on my pc and also on my laptop - maybe. This is, why I keep all edited files ;)
My backup drive has 6 TB, what should last for a while :)

Sort:  

I have four external Hard drives with backups on and one 5TB drive for live sort of backup, so about 12 Tb total or more,
You raise a good point i do have my catalogue backed up but f i lost it I would be frustrated since all of my phones from the last few years are n that one catalogue,I am thinking many I should at least do a new catalogue each year as well NOw I have thought that before and keep forgetting to do it, So making a reminder for myself as soon as I finish this comment

OK, you have won - you have more TB of HD space 😉

Some make separate catalogues monthly or even after longer photoshootings. If one catalogue gets lost and you have no backup, then only these editings are lost.
I am thinking of changing to such a system of many smaller catalogues too, because my one big catalogue seems to slow my laptop more and more down.

BUt you will no doubt will with more orderly backup, I have at east two copies of every photos and catologue, but I know I have some with three copies so if i ever sat down and organized them better I would have more free space

I think your right the big catalogue does slow things down, I rally need to make the change if there all smaller catalogues switching between them will be quick and easy

I have also a second backup on a separate harddrive, but this one is the one I always forget, and when I lose my main HD and also my backup, then at least one months of photos will be gone, apart from the ones, which are still on the SD cards ;)

This is one thing I will definitely do soon - change to smaller catalogues.

I have an online backup as well so I could recover the catalog file from there if needed along with the recent files

I was just reading about smaller catalogues and saw a few articles that say they are not needed and can create more work, Adobe referred to one photography that had a catalogue with 1.9 Million photos, the consensus seemed to be from a few articles that it doesn’t slow down your Computer no matter how many photos you have, and if you ever need to do a search it would be a pain with multiple catalogues

And they recommended keeping a backup of the catalogue as being more important

I have no online backup, but I will take care of my second backup and update it more frequently.

Maybe they are right, but it really seems to me, that the more images are in the catalogue the slower Lightroom works on my laptop. My PC is running fine though, and also the old one didn't have problems. I'll think over it what I should do :)

I am considering going with a catalogue for each year, at the very least I will start a new catalogue when I move
I only use it on my PC, so I haven’t really noticed any slow down with he Lightroom itself when I do things

I think, at first I should clean up the images in the catalogue, because there must be a few thousand, which I haven't deleted after importing, although they are bad or not sharp. But this work will have to wait till a rainy day or so ;)
A yearly catalogue would be also a good idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41