Feeling like a Photography DINOSAUR.steemCreated with Sketch.

Once upon a time....I considered myself a decent photographer. I even dabbled as a professional doing weddings and other events. But even before that, I had a real love for photography and taking photos.

I really liked looking at magazines about photography too (there was no internet to surf for inspiration back then). There were a few that I would purchase on a fairly consistent basis. One of those was American PHOTO Magazine.

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 2.31.56 PM.png

I am also, to this day, a bit f a pack rat. I could never toss those out and so I have a nice little collection, with the oldest being 26 years old!

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 2.32.35 PM.png

I was able to play around a lot with my hobby before I tried to go professional. I was even lucky enough to get my hands dirty in the "darkroom".

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 3.19.39 PM.png
(Photo credit: Pinterest)

Some of my fondest memories were of being in the darkroom developing my film...so excited to see what I had been able to capture. Yup, no screen on the camera back then to give you a "sneak peek". Then on to pick a negative and work on exposing and creating a finished print.

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 3.19.01 PM.png
Photo Credit: Pinterest)

I can still smell the chemicals.... It really was a great time to be alive.

Yes it is true, technology has also done amazing things for Photography. And I am sure the future will bring even more amazing things. Heck the moving photos of "Harry Potter" are already popping up!

I am just glad I was around for the era before.

XOXO,
Josie

P.S. Found this video online showing a bit of original Darkroom inspired Photoshop tools. It was neat to watch.

https://petapixel.com/2015/02/26/these-are-the-darkroom-techniques-photoshops-tools-are-based-on/

Sort:  

Those pictures can be great gifts :)
I have some of them and they outshine any other photo on the internet!
Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60289.82
ETH 3304.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42