Positives From Negatives:

in #photography6 years ago (edited)
YESTERDAY IS HISTORY, WHILE TOMORROW IS A MYSTERY. TODAY IS A GIFT WE CALL THE PRESENT!

The above quote is one I've been saying for quite a while now. It is one of many I know that helps keep my mind on a positive track. But is it accurate? I believe the past is history, but not in the gone and forgotten sense. I believe past events shouldn't be held on to, but should rather be used to help us with the mysteries of tomorrow. Using the past to correct the future from repeating its disastrous flaws!

Wise sayings seem to keep me positive, but pictures from past times keep me in a positive mindset as well. How you might ask? First one must recognize the negatives before seeing the actual positives.

In this post, I'll be sharing some photos of mine I took over 5 years ago. Each picture actually was taken when things in my life were no where near what it is today. They are pictures from negative times, which can now be seen in a positive light. The negative times were so rough and confusing, I can now look at the same pictures and see how the negative factors in my life then helped me to shape a more positive mind now.

PICTURE 01 of 06 -  BRIGHT LIGHT, DARK WORLD

This picture here was taken in 2012 sometime. I remember it well. It was early and the sun was rising. I had been recently made single again when my girlfriend at that time died only 3 to 4 months before this pic. I was in the relationship with my ex for almost 3 years, then the alcohol got her. While one might see this pic and recognize it as positive in some way, my experiences during the time of me taking the photo were so negative, I was basically lost for about 4 or 5 months. This picture was the first one taken in a very negative outlook on the world. At the time, the sun was shown to be extremely big. I couldn't see it then, but this was the light that would guide me in times of darkness. Not just in this pic, but in 2 more pics I will be adding in this same post.


PICTURE 02 of 06 - A TIME TO REFLECT 

I took this pic about 2 or 3 days after I was so lost I would use my cheap phone at the time and constantly snap pictures all over Dallas and the surrounding suburbs. I refused to cope correctly, and I assumed if I just keep my mind off of her, I will be okay. But I wouldn't. I believe the sun, 3 different times, was a sign to leave the darkness I was living in, and come back into a positive light. I didn't see it then, because a negative vision blind us to the truth. Today, I can honestly say that the sun was telling me I needed to reflect on the issues in my life and overcome them. Hence in this pic, the sun is taking time to reflect on things. It's telling me to reflect on my life issues and telling me that there is a way to turn negative vibes into positive ones.


PICTURE 03 of 06 - A CONFUSED CLUSTER

This was taken the same day as the last pic. In fact, most of the pics presented in this post were taken in the same day. However, I believe this one confused me the most. I mean it looks like a bunch of giraffes were running and somehow got entangled in one another. This was the only pic that left me confused. On big cluster fuck of art. This did't help. Darkness grew thicker. As I look at this pic now, I see how it was showing me how confused and tangled up in small things I really was. But back then, it was too dark to notice.


PICTURE 04 of 06 - THE FOGGED VIEW

I decided to add this pic in the post because of 2 reasons:

  1. To show how negativity can fog up ones vision and thoughts, blinding ones perception on actuality/reality of life.
  2. This is my mental image of how ones mind/life is when overflowing with negative energy. A fog. A haze.


PICTURE 05 of 06 - THE PEEK-A-BOO SUN'S POSITIVE HOPE

This is not actually the original pic. Somehow two different images became one. The bottom part of the pic is not even recognizable. What was once a mostly positive image seems to have become a very negative one. But even now, I can see how the negative defect of the pic has given the positive top half an image of dominance. How a truly positive picture turned into a negative outcome. But it didn't turn out to be negative. It shows how a positive vibe or energy will always come out on top shining bright over any amount of negative energy.


PICTURE 06 of 06 - BEAUTY BLOOMS

While all these pictures seem to look positive, they were from a negative time. Take this image. I took it for the beauty of the flower. It was a positive outcome to a negative path. While this picture was not taken while in my negative foggy haze, this picture does represent all the negative actions or thoughts of that which was once in a dark realm. It tells the story of what one can expect to look forward to when defeating a negative way of thinking and living. Without realizing all the negative filth someone has in their life, that someone will never see or appreciate the beauty of a positive and strong mind. Yes, beauty transforms out of the ugliest things. And I know through my experiences.

--OVERCOME THE DARKNESS, LIVE IN THE LIGHT--

I would like to end this with a BIG THANK YOU to any and all who took the time to read this. Please upvote, comment, resteem, please do so.

@jjohnson78.

Sort:  

So damn true and very wise. Welcome to the steem community!

Look forward to reading your future content :)

Thank you kindly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94