Skogafoss

in #photography7 years ago

Cows and Waterfall.jpg

So I feel like Iceland is the hip place to be right now; and why wouldn't it be? Dubbed the land of "Fire and Ice", Iceland has become such a popular destination point with it's breathtaking scenery. So naturally, I decided to conquer this amazing country last year. My friend and I flew there last September without a plan. We had gotten a rental car but that was it. We did not book hotel rooms. We did not have an itinerary planned. We decided to be spontaneous and see where adventure took us; it did not disappoint. While there is something to be said for planning out a trip so you don't miss anything, there is definitely an interesting twist to a trip when you don't know what you're going to do the next day.

My first decision was to rent a manual transmission car. I have only driven automatics my whole life. So of course, I thought the best time to learn was to do it in a new country, leaving an airport, in the middle of rush hour traffic. You couldn't be more right if you think this is a stupid idea. My goal, though, was to get myself out of my comfort zone. In fact, this whole trip was designed around that. My belief is that a person grows the most when they step out of what's familiar, and into uncertainty. It helps a person grow; to adapt and be in the moment. This idea followed with the fact that we wouldn't book any hotels rooms. We brought a tent with us and figured we'd start driving and see where that brought us.

So where did we end up? South East Iceland; where there are waterfalls on the side of the road and animals roaming freely. This picture is the waterfall named Skogafoss. We had seen a lot of waterfalls on our trip (more to come on that) but this one felt the most grand to me. Seeing it from a distance looked like an oil painting, and watching the cattle graze in front of the falls only added to that. It was definitely a highlight of our trip. More to come!

Sort:  

I really want to go there!

This picture really captures the scale of the mountain & waterfall with the cows in the foreground, great capture!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34