Uganda Grasshopper

in #photography7 years ago

Grass best.jpg

This photo is of a Uganda grasshopper, taken using a Canon 80D camera with a 75-300 mm lens. The colors they exhibit are phenomenal. Bright and eccentric. Beautiful creatures. I'm not too sure which species it is, however.

If you do know, please let me know in the comments!

Happy steeming!

Sort:  

I don't know the species but it looks like it have found a good place to eat

Awesome shot! Thanks for sharing.

Wow, thats a cutie! Awesome close-up, dont you want to try submitting it in one of the photocontests hosted by @juliank? :) Would make a great entry for today´s animal photography or Thursday´s macro photography :) I always try to find out the exact species of animals I take photos of but I cannot help here I am afraid... insects are hard to identify. Took me a lot of googling to identify this fella I took a shot of in Costa Rica:

IMG_20170831_103453.jpg

Haha. I guess sometimes you never really see the beauty of something until its in a short. I think its beautiful yet Somehow i can't imagine that it mesmerized people. In Ugana we kind of grow up around grasshoppers. As kids, we would go to a bush early motning when the grass is still covered in dew to collect them in small containers. We would have to snick slowly on them and then cover thrm in our hands. The more you had, the more you were a star. They come in different sizes and colour variations; (green, brown mixed colours) and types. The bigger a grass hopper you caught, the more merrier. I remember some time i wanted to rear them so i put breathing holes in my tin and some grass dumped with water. In my head, thry still had their home enviroment in the little stead i had made them. It broke my heart to find all of them dead. I feel it breaking even now at the thought.

Now when am home , i see kids play with them. It was memory refreshing to actually have found someone with a story entled Ugandan grasshopper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83