Overcoming traumatic experiences

in #photography6 years ago

Screenshot_20170810-065244.png

One of the scariest events in my life occurred on this day a year ago. I was driving down a local road when a flash storm came into town. Normally I would go another way home, but I worried that if I went that way, my car would flood, so I went an alternate route. As I wad driving, it appeared as if the flooding was significant going forward, so I turned down a road that led straight my house. Almost immediately after turning, the rain came down even harder and made me lose control of my car (which I had just purchaded and replaced the transmission...not cheap) and slid straight into a ditch. The ditch was 3 feet deep.

Since the cars mechanisms were all electrically controlled, all functions immediately died, locking me in the car with flood waters rushing in. I had to kick the car and window open to escape. However, as I was exciting, the door sliced my leg open, leaving me with a huge gash (and a huge scar to remember the event by). Luckily I escaped, but it took 2 hours before cops could help due to high flood waters and lightning in the area that could have struck the waters, electrocuting anyone standing in it.

I post this as a reminder that we all can overcome. Whether it's a bad job, weight loss, or in my case, a traumatic experience, we can do it. Just kick that door open and don't look back.

Sort:  

kick thru anything to achieve the impossible...

Sometimes those moments lead to you moving thru life different... I bet you enjoy the smaller things now... great story...

Reality is a Jason Statham frontkick. I can respect that. Haha.

I'm sorry you had to go through this. It must have been terrifying and quite upsetting! Compared to all things hopefully it was just a minor setback. Things like this definitely make you more tempered for life's harder struggles.

That's a badass survivor story man!

Haha i know! Battle scars to prove it! JCVD would be proud.

Semoga kejadian serupa takkan terulang kembali. @jgullinese

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87