Insect photography (w/macro photography)

in #photography6 years ago

"Between our birth and death we may touch understanding, As a moth brushes a window with its wing. "

~ Christopher Fry

With perfect weather and the sun shining brightly this afternoon, perfect lighting for photography, I was able to capture some macro shots of a moth that had flown onto a couple of flowers. The shots were taken using a Canon 80D camera, using a 75 - 300 mm lens.

Picture 8-5.png

Picture 34-3.png

Picture 33-4.png

Though it has a similar look to a butterfly, moths have a subtle difference. One of the main differences is most butterflies have vibrant coloring, while moths most commonly have drab colors. While moths are primarily nocturnal, there are some, like this one, that is active during the day time.

Picture 38-1.png

Picture 39-1.png

Picture 52.png

I was also able to capture shots of a moth, or possibly butterfly, cocoon, with the insect still in pupa stage before metamorphosis.

Picture 40.png

Picture 41-1.png

Really cool stuff. Nature is truly bitchin'!

@jgullinese

Sort:  

Nice nature photography!

Wowww. Jaw droping pictures. Looks brilliant. Good work natute always has something for us in every manner. I used to do photography with my 55-200mm lens.

Awesome! Insect photography is underrated in my opinion..

Hard to tell which is the flower. Wonderful captures, jgullinese:)

Yeah, i'm not sure whether it was able to blend in as a defense mechanism, or if that its outer layer over time has adapted to look that way, bit i agree. Sometimes it was hard to tell where the flower stopped and the moth began. Luckily ot does not appear that way in some or all these photos. I do have to say a couple butterflies I saw today in a different grassy area were much better to distinguish, but they were not idol long enough for me to get a photo of tbem.

So lovely:)

Nature is wise, besides giving us the pleasure that people like you, teach us the beauty that surrounds it, since most photographers look for beauties and you frame everything that has movement, that to others seems insignificant and when doing those shots are beautiful and interesting @ jgullinese

extraordinary pictures, great work!

Your photography is pretty good I have less good I use my simple mobile phone.

These are so delicate and beautiful. It makes me feel like I've stopped for just a moment and done that thing people do when they're out in nature and take it all in.

VERY VERY NICE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98