Family traditions make me hoppy

in #photography6 years ago

It is a tradition for my mother to direct her house for Easter. This year she got an early start and finish to her decorating.

received_10100159758664909.jpeg

Ever since me and my sister were both at a young age, we would always have all of my father's family over for Easter (that's 6 aunts/uncles, 2 grandparents, and 10 cousins for perspective). We would first go to an Easter service at the church, come home and smoke a ham, my aunts would put out hors d'oeuvres, and the kids would hunt for the Easter Eggs that were hidden by the adults. One would always have a $10 in it, which to a child is approximately worth $200 billion.

After lunch and the egg hunt, family would go back to their homes and my immediate family have an Easter dinner.

This year will be quite interesting in the sense me and my sister's birthdays fall on Easter. Even though we are three years apart in age, we still have the same birthday, April 1st. That should make some interesting "April Fool's" jokes on a national holiday.

received_10100159757961319.jpeg

Kudos to my mom for these decorations this year. I expect everyone to be just as impressed as I am.

received_10100159756015219.jpeg

Do you guys have any traditions on Easter? Let me know in the comments!

Happy Steeming!

@jgullinese

Sort:  

That looks amazing! In my country, on Easter's Eve, we usually go to church or to the cemetery (I know it sounds weird, but people come to light some candles using that "Holy Light from Jerusalem") and by next day we gather at someone's house and have the lunch. What's funny is that a small part of my relatives are Catholics, while all the rest of us are Orthodox, and we usually have two Easter gatherings yearly, unless it falls on the same date.
Happy birthday in advance and have a great Easter with your family!

wao great dear have a good morning with family

The decorations look amazing and the day sounds heavenly. I got a chuckle out of this line ... One would always have a $10 in it, which to a child is approximately worth $200 billion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58476.88
ETH 2522.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34