Creepy crawlies photography

in #photography6 years ago

I was able to capture one of the coolest looking caterpillars today using my Canon 80D camera, using a 75 - 300 mm lens on the macro setting today. I've seen some pretty cool insects in the past few days, including butterflies, moths and bees, but this one definifely is amongst the top. The first shot is of it on a tree.

received_10100171014408309.jpeg

I noticed later that somehow it got on my backpack as I was walking around. It caught me offguard as I sat my backpack down, but I still captured a shot of it.

received_10100171018824459.jpeg

The furs on the outside of the caterpillar are quite distinct, as well as are the bright yellows upon it's body and the red coloring that encompasses it's head.

After I noticed it on my backpack, I grabbed a stick and allowed the caterpillar to climb upon it and placed it upon a picnic table near me. Here are the shots I was able to get after doing so.

received_10100171018809489.jpeg

received_10100171018779549.jpeg

received_10100171018794519.jpeg

What a beautiful looking creature. Sometimes in nature you'll stumble upon a creature you've never seen before!

One love,

@jgullinese

Sort:  

That is one scary/nasty looking caterpillar.

Love the shots though dude! I would like to jump on something similar soon. I need to get a decent camera and lens first.

How much does your set-up run now?

@coinexchange you can can get a really good DSLR camera for under a grand these days and get also get really good lenses between 200 - 400 a piece. My macro lens will cost you on the higher end of that, but if you have the 70 - 300 mm or 75 - 300 mm, as well as a 15 - 75 mm lens, you can get pretty much any shot you'll ever need. I prefer a Canon camera, but you can get some pristine shots as well with a Nikon. It all depends on your preference.

Wow, very interesting kind of photography.

yes caterpillars that look beautiful and adorable, many hearts are also dangerous caterpillars

The color is beautiful, but it looks like a monster, so creepy

Congratulations @jgullinese! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Very beautiful one. I have made a video of a caterpillar comming to my camera. You can Watch it here

Nyan ulat bule pue beutoi

like the macronya results, whether they are dangerous. I have not met that kind of caterpillar. hopefully I can meet and capture every moment of it ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68237.15
ETH 3499.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72