A way to keep cool in the summer

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

On one of my trips around the U.S., I stopped by Mt. Vernon, which was George Washington's (1st President of the U.S) plantation home in Virginia.

At the home was one of the coolest ideas for it's time. An Icehouse.

received_10100162038291519.jpeg
(Taken using Canon 80D camera with 15 - 75 mm lens)

Screenshot_20180313-164659.png
(Closer look of sign by icehouse)

What his workers would do is dig up a dry well and fill the well with ice from the Potomac River, which is not too far from the home. They would do this during the winter time and the ice would last through the spring time and much of the summer time. This allowed them to keep meats and other supplies longer that would otherwise not be available.

The way they were able to keep it longer, other than keeping it in the well, was to cover the ice with sawdust. The sawdust kept the temperature lower, within the well, thus ice for longer.

Pretty neat stuff!

Who knew that one of our forefathers (maybe not his idea, but we'll never know) had the insight to come up with such a cool invention (pun intended).

If you ever make it to Mt. Vernon, make sure you check out the icehouse.

For more info, you can check out this site:

http://www.mountvernon.org/the-estate-gardens/ice/

Sort:  

Hello, the truth is that before they did many things to survive, that nowadays they surprise us, today I find out something new thanks to you

Nice post friend, thanks for sharing

That is a phenomenal idea. I think they did something similar in Europe but perhaps they did but the icebox under ground.

Yeah, I truly did not know about the idea of using sawdust. I always wondered, outside of winter, how they preserved meats. I assumed that they either cured most meats in the sun using salt, or ate what they could until it spoiled. Truly a genius idea that changes my perspective on older times. Now i'm not sure how much of a fan I would be of their sewage disposal plans, but I suppose it was quite crappy. Yes, pun intended!

We are lucky indeed to live with modern sewers. When people talk about living in the old days and how good it must have been ... I'm like ... nope. LOL

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #6! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74