The Magic Of The MountainssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

jessicaoutside.com-P5193783-1-three-sisters-canmore-1280.jpg


I grew up in the foothills of the Blue Mountains, Sydney, Australia. A vast expanse of eucalyptus trees and exposed sandstone cliffs. I always loved trips up to the mountains. Winding roads, hidden rainforests and cute villages like Leura made for fun weekend visits.

But when I first met the Canadian Rockies, it was love at first sight. I had known nothing like it. When looking up at the jagged peaks of the Rockies, their sheer size was humbling. Mountains so tall, the trees stopped growing. And the turquoise coloured lakes. Oh the turquoise coloured lakes. Can you imagine being the first person to ever lay eyes on such beauty?

jessicaoutside.com-P6160300-canoe-on-moraine-lake-vertical-1280.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_6495779234916_20180902_171853832.jpeg

Since leaving Canada, I'm missing the mountains more than ever. And it makes me wonder, what other great mountain ranges are out there to explore? Surely they all have their own unique power and draw. Or do all mountains exude the same magic? The Italian Dolomites look epic. The Andes in Patagonia look insane. The volcanic Ko'olau mountains of Hawaii, next level.

You could seriously spend a lifetime discovering new ranges and peaks. And I haven't even started climbing them yet! I can imagine that'd be the start of a new obsession for me. And I never think of that word in a bad way either. It's a word that makes me think of passion, fulfillment, discovery. A word that excites me. And I'm so excited to see more of these magnificent beasts.

So here's to the Canadian Rockies and here's to the ones I'll get to know in the future. What's your favourite mountain range?

jessicaoutside.com-P7040603-road-through-jasper-1289.jpg

jessicaoutside.com-P6210039-star-trails-over-three-sisiters-canmore-1280.jpg

jessicaoutside.com-P6160294-moraine-lake-foggy-morning-vertical-1280-1.jpg

jessicaoutside.com-P5173760-morants-curve-lake-louise-1280.jpg

jessicaoutside.com-P5063183-mount-lawrence-grassi-canmore-1280.jpg

JessicaOutside-logo-blue.png

All content is my own

Sort:  

Thank you so very much! Really appreciate it @daveks 🙏😁👍

Steemit’s a better place with people like yourself!

I love the mountains and have been to a few of them (Chilean and Argentinian Patagonia, Andes in Bolivia and Peru, Scandies up in the Arctic Circle in Sweden, Swiss Alps, NZ Alps and volcanoes , Japan Alps on Honshu and volcanoes on Hokkaido , Taurus Mountains in Turkey, the mountains of the Sinai Peninsula in Egypt, Volcanoes in Hawai, Fiji and Vanuatu, the Canadian Rockies, The Coastal Mountains both in BC and Alaska, most of what Australia has to offer in terms of mountains, and the Himalayas in Nepal to name most of the important ones). Nothing compares to the Himalayas in my opinion; once you have walked between 8km high giants everything else just looks small. In fact your life just feels small. It is a deeply humbling experience.

The Canadian Rockies would have to win the prize for the most easily accessible spectacular vistas I have seen. It is just so easy to get to them. Even the back country hikes are only normally a handful of days. Favorite mountain? Hmm. Feeling sentimental so perhaps Mt Barney in the Scenic Rim in South East Qld as I grew up climbing it. I also have a soft spot for the Blue Mountains from all the time I spent rock climbing down there. Anything in Tassie. Moving on from that I love all the iconic big wall mountains (Devils Thumb, Torres del Paine, Monte FItzroy, El Capitan, etc). Ama Dablam would have to be one of the most scenic peaks I have ever seen. Do I have to choose?

Really nice posts. I love mountains, they always make me realize what mother nature can do. I personally really like the Alps and the Andes, they are so impressive. Unfortunately, I haven't been to Canadian Rockies but I definitely want to go. These pictures look amazing! :)

Thanks so much. Really appreciate it.

They're so amazing hey. I just love their energy. One day I will make it to the Andes. They look absolutely mental!

Have you ever seen the Tetons? It has been a while, but I remember them being spectacular.

I have but only briefly I'm afraid. But man they were so stunning. I'd definitely love to visit again.

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thank you @travelfeed Love you guys! 🙏💙👍

I cannot stop being amazed by your photos @jessicaoutside! Btw can I use the road one on my next Monday Monrning Quote? I'll make sure to give you all the credits, of course.

Oh why thanks my friend! And of course. Please feel free to use it 🙏

Hooooooorraaay! I'll make sure to find an epic quote to put on that

Beautiful photos and I am like you and the mountains draw me to them and fill my soul.

Ah thanks lovely lady. I now fully understand the saying "the mountains are calling" 😁

So funny you mentioned that quote on the same day I went to my friends yesterday and they had a beautiful picture of mountains and the quote by John Muir "The mountains are calling and I must go."

Wow. These pictures are so full of life 👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much for that! 💙

What is your next mountain?

No mountain plans at this stage 😔 I can definitely see us heading back to Canada sometime soon but time will tell. Would love to check out Hawaii

Hawaii it's a different type of mountain 😉I love vulcano!

It is indeed. I checked out some photos the other day and my god...it's crazy beautiful. So lush and so steep. The power of nature is mind boggling.

And it's so powerful! I'm in admiration when I saw force of nature like vulcano, tornado,...

The Canadian Rockies are far and away my favourites of the ranges I've seen (I haven't seen many). The Himalayas must be on another level, though...

I love that road shot, looking down towards that sharp-edged ridge! That's off the Icefield Parkway, right?

They're pretty special hey. Canada is such an awesome place. Oh the Himalayas look epic. One day, one day 😄
Thanks so much! The road shot was taken on my way back from Maligne Lake on Maligne Lake Road. Such a good drive!

Oh, cool, I never went that far! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36