"Adventures in the City, Historic Church in Vine City" original photographs.

in #photography6 years ago

Church 3.jpg
West Hunter Street Baptist Church was a key rallying place during the civil rights movement,
located in the heart of a once thriving African-American community along what is now
Martin Luther King Jr. Drive. That is a Walmart to the left

Church 2.jpg
Restoration of the building, abandoned for many decades, is underway.
The Westside Future Fund hopes the building can be restored to its former glory and opened for visitors.

Church 1.jpg
When I took these photos, the building was up for sale, and
I considered looking into accruing funding to purchase it an
To eye of preserving its exterior, but making the interior a
Home and music recording venue, for personal use mainly.
I would also have converted space on street level for a garage
and workshop...this is a very unsafe neighborhood.

"Adventures in the City"

by
Jerry E Smith
©3/5/2018



!steemitworldmap 33.754830 lat -84.412886 long
West Hunter Street Baptist Church d3scr



These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks

Sort:  

Sweet! Thanks for sharing, Jerry! It looks like a super cool studio space...I am sure no one would mind the loud noise...Plus, you could pull people in off the street (before dark) and record with them. :-) You know, in a perfect world...XO Take care~!

It seems these are non sequitur hopes now @robyneggs, as the building seems to be headed to
Restoration and Historic Site designation. It would have been nice though.
I seriously need to get out of this neighborhood though,
To an area where I can take an evening
Stroll without worrying about
My safety.

I think there is no problem if its only a music recording veneu!

Thanks @kenneth11, too late though, it is being developed as a historic site now

Man this is great! Except the part where it is unsafe.

There are white people who live down in my area (this church and area is called the 'west end' and is also on the edge of 'the bluff') who seem to have no fear of walking around, but I watch my back always.(this is about a mile from my apartment)
The news is daily filled with reports of robberies and shootings down here.
I am the wrong color, it is not safe for me down here, so I am a prisoner in my apartment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62