You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: American Pokeweed - Birds Love the Berries, but Poisonous to Humans

in #photography8 years ago

I think that pokeweed, the Phytolaccaceae family, is endemic to the Americas and Africa. The most prolific here in the States are those beauties pictured above, Phytolacca americana. It's actually a highly medicinal plant, though because of the toxicity, as @cognoscere noted (kill you dead toxicity), it's recommended that you use this only under the guidance of an herbalist who is very experienced with it. And do your research of course... Excellent photos! Anyone who didn't know how to recognize this plant certainly will after seeing your post, @cognoscere. Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Good to know. I probably would've said Mmm cherries! as I shoved a handful in my mouth.

Hahaha! Well, they are pretty!

Thanks @jenncapestany, yeah I don't think I'd try to cook, eat, or self-medicate with pokeweed of my own accord. With guidance, as you suggest, maybe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50