Live Music Photography: Dave Hannon (Tacoma, WA)

in #photography6 years ago

Live Music Photos: Dave Hannon

Dave Hannon is a singer-songwriter here in the Tacoma area. He's got four albums and an EP. His earlier albums were written as either Dave Hannon or the Dave Hannon Band. When we met several years ago, he had started up a new band called Automatic Theory. They recorded an album that was a lot heavier than his previous work, but it was good stuff. Recently he's been spending the last four years working on a new album. He's thousands of dollars into it, not to mention probably thousand of hours dedicated to it between himself and three or so producers.

dave-hannon_35525343901_o.jpg

Dave's a very good friend of mine. He was actually a groomsmen in my wedding (and I'll be one in his coming up this summer). I asked him to play a song at my wedding for the first dance song. An original he wrote called "To Be As One" that I love very much (and he very rarely plays). Dave and I perform together regularly. We are both familiar with each other's songs and musical style. Even if we decide to play a song we've both never played together, we can always find our way around it.

dave-hannon_35525338541_o.jpg

This is more a blog about Dave Hannon as a friend rather than his music or my photography... He really is one of my best friends and I respect the hell out of him and his music. Anyway, these photos were taken in 2014 at a small theatre in Gig Harbor called The Gig Spot. It was a showcase of independent acoustic artists, include myself, my wife Jessie, Dave Hannon, Angie Lynn, and Luke Stanton. It was a fun evening, performing to a very small crowd - probably about 20 people. Unfortunately the little venue didn't last long. But it was a refreshing experience playing to a small listening crowd, rather than a bar or cafe.

dave-hannon_35655650795_o.jpg

If you're interested in Dave's music, he does have a website: www.davehannonmusic.com. If you're in the area, stop into one of his gigs. He plays various cafes, bars, and wineries in the Pacific Northwest - usually the South Sound areas of Tacoma. I have maybe about 9 photos from that night on my Flickr account: Click Here. The lighting was interesting. I had my Canon T3i Rebel. Of course, being a dimly lit theatre, I had some issues with lighting and blurring. I found some cool angles back stage with the stage lights, so I took a more artistic approach. There - that's my photography part of this blog!

Sort:  

Amazing article Impressive photos

Thanks very much. It's easier to write about my friends than it is to write about myself. Dave's more like a brother to me anyway. In fact we are playing together tonight, too, haha!

Congratulations @jeffrossmusic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jeffrossmusic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50