The First Picture I Ever Took with my DSLR, 5 Years Ago

in #photography7 years ago

Tropical Storm Debbie in Tampa, FL.jpg

5 years ago, I was spending some time down in Tampa, FL. Tropical Storm Debbie was rolling through and all the signs were leading up to it being record breaking tropical storm. My new Canon 5D Mark III had just arrived and I had no idea what I was doing. I went out shooting a bunch of things trying to get my settings right and learn the difference between ISO, aperture and shutter speed.

By now, my friend Nate and I decided to drive around in his Range Rover and push through the storm and the flooded streets. When we turned down Bayshore Blvd I couldn't believe what I saw. The ocean had completely covered the walkway and flooded the streets. It looked like the End of Days. I got out and walked through the flooded streets and jumped up on the sea wall. I dialed my settings in and positioned my camera and went over to sit on the wall and fired the camera.

Because this was the first photo I had ever used that I took, and coming from a graphic design background, I treated this photo quite differently than I do today. The editing and style are both different. Looking at it now, part of me wants to get back to it and a part of me doesn't. I guess it served it's purpose for the time and place of the photo.

This outcome of this photo went on to inspire me to chase photos. Anytime there was something big going on, I wanted to be there shooting it — and that's what helped spark this never ending photographic journey that I'm on....

Sort:  

And i thougt it was Photoshop at first glance :D

This is a superb first photo! I think you might be too hard on yourself. The sense or composition, light and movement are all present within this picture. Excellent capture in my books! Well done @jefflombardo

Wow perfect timing for this picture. Everything is perfect the wave crashing against the wall the bird. Wow . Now I'm not a photographer I like pictures and taking pictures. I can't comment about the lighting or anything like that but to me this is art .

I can only agee with the others. This is a superb picture, even if it was not your first! I can feel the storm looking at this shot. Thank you!

stunning- i have never seen anything quite like this. voted and followed

Thos is an awesome start into the digital photography @jefflombardo. Care to share EXIF info with us? Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Please state clearly how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS. Thank you.

Awesome first photo. Thanks for sharing it. Looks like you have been taking photos for years.

Such a gorgeous photograph!

BEAUTIFUL! Thank you for capturing this 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57