Fashion Photoshoot: Bright Red with Creative Lighting!

in #photography7 years ago

Here is a fun image of model Jess Ward! This photo was actually taken on a yellow backdrop I converted to red in photoshop! Also the shadows were created in post processing also! Sometimes if I have multiple images from the same theme and want to work with an image yet, I will adjust to create a new look!

Jess Bright Red creative POST Thumbnail.jpg
Model: Jess Ward MUA/Photographer: Jeff Hiedeman Location: Rochester, MN

Here is the full image! I love how this turned out!
Jess Bright Red creative POST.jpg
Model: Jess Ward MUA/Photographer: Jeff Hiedeman Location: Rochester, MN

Time taken to edit: 2hrs 25 mins

Thanks for checking out my post! Feel free to follow me to keep updated with my latest creative works!

Sort:  

I have very limited ability to imagine anything, but I guess it turned out to look much better with the background matching the lipstick :)

Can you pls open the curtain and tell me the secret of the shadow?

@adamdo To give you an idea, the image color of makeup and background were the same colors as the lemon photo I posted before this post :) The shadow technique is simply applying an exposure layer to the image and setting the exposure darker. Then choose the selection tool in Photoshop (in this case the square selection tool) and select random squares and delete from the exposure layer in a feathered radius. You can also apply a motion blur to the exposure layer to add an additional fading if needed. Then just adjust the opacity of the exposure layer and you can free transform the layer to make the squares larger and then move around so that the shadows fall on you model or subject where needed! I have a few different shadow effects I use occasionally and I have created Photoshop Actions of them since I love them so much!

Damn, I was wondering how to get this in camera, and the answer was a few clicks away ;-)
Great tip! I never used exposure layer before, and definitely have to take a look on this.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59119.47
ETH 2526.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47