30 DAYS OF BARCELONA. #1 Two Old Boys - Canon 1000D

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

30 DAYS OF BARCELONA. #1 Two Old Boys

Canon 1000D


I've decided to give myself a photo posting challenge to get me into the habit of posting (the last two days I was lazy). Blogging and writing don't feel like my strengths but I enjoy them and want to improve. It's easy to just post a picture but I guess I want to engage people more into the moment of taking that picture, by giving some details around the shot.

This will also be a test of my memory, which isn't usually the best! It's one of the reasons photography is useful for me, because it 'freezes' time and allows me to visualise a past moment more easily. You can be really creative with life by just having a frame to put things in. When I'm out shooting I also find I focus on smaller details of my surroundings, and find a different kind of appreciation for everything. I suppose this shows how perception can change the way you interact with the world. Having a creative mindset is fun and can lead to a lot of productivity, so I try to maintain that perspective as often as possible. Using the world in a creative way is something we all have the power to do, it's just about trying things and finding those things that you are good at and make you feel good at the same time.

2OldBoys.jpg

Anyway to get to the shot. This is a typical kind of scene in Barcelona and this is one of the reasons I love the atmosphere here. It reminds me of all the times I've seen a grand daughter or son walking her grandmother or grandfather home. The older generation here evoke a great sense of community and family. I've always respected the Spanish for their family values, and have noticed good connection between relatives and friends. Every day at my recent cafe job I would see in the square a very elderly man (barely able to walk with two canes) sitting with his son, hanging out together for about 3 hours, most of the time in silence. Towards the end of their afternoon, they would pace slowly up and down the square together until going home. I admire that son for being there for his dad and spending time with him like that during the final parts of his life.

It's nice to see the older generation spending a lot of time outdoors, and like in this scene, making good use of the many park benches around the city. This is at a park near my old place, in an old part of town where there is a big community of elderly people. Props to them as well, because that was a pretty hilly area. From another view of the area, the streets lights just sink into the distance...

ExitMetro.jpg


All your support goes greatly appreciated. If you liked this post, help me spread my work by upvoting or resteeming! I'd like to see the community of growing on here as much as possible, so will try to keep posting as often as possible!

Please feel free to donate to a struggling artist (with loads of ideas) at any time!

BTC: 1HMXEMiqTjBeNb6MZJNWySGJjLASMABup5
ETH: 0x15ff3be20405b7e200e4418e56bd8cb9baa925e0
LISK: 15040547790907166960L
STEEM: 5cdc11d7e5d247a9be2
DOGE: DGG4ZTmHuZVRNMSscYpZNMJbeZFzKevQ7E

Thank you :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @jedh484! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65