Eastern Lubber Grasshopper -Romalea Microptera - Or a Big Ass Grasshopper

in #photography7 years ago

I was out on the trusty Kubota tractor today doing a little brush hogging and saw what can only be described as a monster in one of the Godzilla vs Lubber grasshopper films!

This thing was so big I could see it from up in the tractor seat, and my eyesight ain't that great at all!

The Eastern Lubber Grasshopper (Romalea Micoptera)

 A very large and strikingly colored grasshopper that ranges from Southeast Texas to the Mid Atlantic coast. These monsters can cause quite a bit of damage to crops and even decorative foliage, mostly in their nymph stage. As these bugs mature they don't get around as well due to their size, mostly crawling everywhere they go, they don't have a real air jump like your smaller grasshoppers do.


 I have seen several of these over the years and they seem to be mostly solitary in nature, I have never seen a swarm of them around here. I'm guessing that in earlier life cycles they might though. I can't imagine one of the slow lumbering giants being able to do much crop damage by themselves , this poor booger could hardly walk over the cut grass and weeds that I left in my trail.

Anyway an interesting look at this specimen of giant bug, hope you enjoyed it.

Got a short video too, check it out!

Logo by the always awesome @papa-pepper

Sort:  

Great..Following u ..It will help me to learn more about photography

@saan it looks like I could learn more from you! Following you , great stuff!

Useful information
I like this :D

Hello jed78, great post thank you for shearing information :)

Thanks for looking!

Afraid of a grasshopper????

Did you see the size of that beast, Like I said, i'm not papa-pepper.

I have heard of grasshoppers destroying crops before. Maybe you need a ninja to take them out quietly before they get all your crops destroyed.

It would probably take a trained ninja to put these jokers down!

We do have a steemit ninja named @dwells he might can take them out for you.

Grasshoppers are kosher. Cook them up in a little garlic and butter. Mmmmmmm!

And crunchy too!

Congratulations @jed78! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67