Shooting the moon…trying to at least

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

For the past couple days, it seems like everyone around me has been talking about the moon. I missed the blood moon, wasn’t really in a position to see the lunar eclipse, and I still don’t know exactly what a blue moon is. Last night though, the sky was clear and the full moon did look beautiful, so I decided to TRY and get a decent shot of the supermoon.

super moon.jpg

I have seen some pretty incredible moon photos lately… shots with interesting landscape features in the foreground or detailed silhouettes in front of a large moon. I am not sure how some of those are done, but I assume that many of those images are created from multiple frames. I wasn’t trying to do anything fancy last night though. I just wanted to experiment with exposures and see if I could get a clear shot.

Once I positioned the camera on the tripod, I started out with fairly slow shutter speeds at the smallest aperture. In all of those shots though, the moon was completely blown out. None of my photos turned out great, but the ones that ended up working best were taken at very fast shutter speeds (f/7.1 at 1/3200 sec. ISO 800 with -3 steps exposure compensation for the image posted here). If I had tried to capture a tree, or mountain, or anything else in the shot, it definitely would have required a very different exposure. With the tripod, I could have taken two different exposures and merged them in Photoshop, but I am wondering if the images I am seeing out there were created from a single frame.

I ran into a similar issue trying to photograph the full solar eclipse a few months ago. I took these shot of the eclipsed sun over my office building, and had to adjust quite a bit in Lightroom to expose for the building. In that case though, there was considerably more available light than last night at 9pm, so the shots were somewhat workable.

Hubbell-solar-eclipse-both.jpg

Sort:  

Basically, a blue moon was a second full moon in a month... which of course happens once in a blue moon. This year it was Jan 1 for the first full moon and Jan 31 for the second ... or so says my moon app.

I'm sure the Internet would be happy to inform us further but I personally have had a genuine lack of interest.

Well not so much disinterest as to ignore it. I mean, I guess I figure I have as much info as I need.

We definitely took a walk on the hills by moonlight and there was something of a moonbow for a moment.

ttfn ttyl ;-)

Thanks for the explanation. As soon as I wrote that, I thought about the fact that it would take about 10 seconds to Google the answer. Then I would have had to rewrite that sentence, and that was just WAY too much effort.

Regardless of the terminology though, it was a beautiful night to be outside enjoying the moonlight.

You do realize that this is the great lie from Master Google

As soon as I wrote that, I thought about the fact that it would take about 10 seconds to Google the answer.

Nothing is every a 10 second adventure out onto the web. At least not in my world ;-)

Regardless of the terminology though, it was a beautiful night to be outside enjoying the moonlight.

Pretty sure this is all that matters !! :-D

"Nothing is every a 10 second adventure out onto the web. At least not in my world ;-)"

Ha! That's why it's better to just remain in the dark sometimes. You can't know everything.

Have a good weekend!

You can't know everything.

Ohhh but that doesn't keep my mind from wandering off into everything ... oh look a shiny ... and .. a sock ... and ... a spinning toy (that's how my brain sees the Internet and Steemit) ...

lol have fun ttyl

Ha...I have always been that way too, but I think the internet is reshaping all of our brains to function that way. Attention spans are so last century.

Attention spans are so last century.

In the middle of the coffee shop, I laughed out loud and clapped my hands !! The other 6 people only paused to slightly glance my way.

I think we can make this a viral meme ... right after ...

Cool office building and nice shots of the Sun. To get clear shots of the sun without all the flaring, you need a really heavy filter. I used 2 welding lenses stacked on each other to get even a partial eclipse, and one lens when the Sun was almost totally covered.

Thanks. I used a solar filter when the eclipse was still partial, but it would have been impossible to shoot the building through that. For the short time that the eclipse was in totality, I shot without it.

Yes, absolutely impossible to get BOTH into the same shot with a solar filter on. During totality, it is said to be safe to look directly at the Sun, so the camera should be able to handle that quite nicely.

Really nice shot! The moon looks amazing!

I have taken pretty cool shots myself back in a day, I have no clue how I managed to do that because now I get one big circle of light and nothing else! 😆

Thanks! I took quite a few shots, and I ended up with several bright white circles too. I just kept bracketing to find the right exposure and bring out some of the detail.

nice photograph of moon and blog

Waaaw, great Pictures.
Nice posts @jctdesign
Keep working bro

Surprisingly enough, you can get the best moon shots when it's at 1/2 to 3/4 full. Because the sun as at the side of it, it casts dramatic shadows on the ridges and craters - especially along the terminator line.

That being said, there's nothing like a full moon with just a few wisps of cloud in front.

MoonBird.jpg

Thanks for sharing the tip and your shot. Beautifully done! I love the composition with that bird in the foreground.

Thanks. It was definitely a "happy accident." No way I could have planned for that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61796.23
ETH 2480.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64