Overcomplicating the life out of things - PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY

in #photography7 years ago

There used to be a time when I used to over complicate a lot of things in the studio, the poses were over the top and aimless, the lighting was overkill, sometimes I just needed one light but I would end up throwing backlights and hair lights into the mix when really one light was enough and probably the wisest choice. Here are two images they are lit using the same light, which was a flash head fired through an octabox. I love using octaboxes they give of super soft flattering light depending on how big and deep the modifier is, a quick rule of thumb is the bigger the light the softer the light.

Half the battle of photographing in the studio is choosing the right modifier, I knew I wanted a soft simple portrait but I was also shooting slightly wider than usual and getting more of the body in. So I chose the softest and largest modifier I could which was the 6ft octa, its all I could fit in the studio and even that I couldn’t really get high up as I had low ceilings. I was also shooting a model that was wearing white so anything harsh would of just created a hot spot on her clothes, there are ways of avoiding this using flags or even photoshop. But sometimes a man just wants to shoot and not spend hours tweaking pixels.

I actually photographed this last year sometime and it’s been another one of my favourite photographs. It’s always made me feel slightly uneasy and I can’t exactly figure out why, maybe it’s the emotionless expression the model has, as humans we are used to accepting emotion. Before we talk we can work out what a person is feeling, our eyes other facial parts give of cues almost like a silent language between ourselves. This photograph is void of all feelings the girl’s face is just straight she’s even looking straight at the camera and is hardly giving away any hints that our brain can use to work out what she is feeling. Maybe that’s why I feel uneasy about this photograph but it makes me like it even more.

JCP_6803-Edit.jpg

Here is the second shot now this one is a bit more easy going.JCP_6743 as Smart Object-1.jpg

Sort:  

Some beautiful shots. I am yet to play around with any serious studio work. Thanks for the details bout the modifier.

thank you very much and you'll enjoy it i find working in the studio relaxing mainly because its a lot warmer than shooting outside :) But looking the your work you've put up on your blog i cant wait to see what you do in the studio.

I love everything you shared in your write up with these two photos...a background story no one would have known about had you not shared it... Love the simplicity of the images.

thank you very much :) i feel the story behind the photograph is just as important as the shot itself especially the moments just before the photograph is taken. Thank you once again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60004.45
ETH 2418.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43