Travels in Kochi (Cochin), India

in #photography6 years ago

In 2015 my friends and I travelled to Kochi in the region of Kerala, India. We were there for a close friends wedding. The wedding was quite an experience. It was a Christian wedding and the service was in an open air church. The weather was hot (40 degrees celsius) and we were almost all in full suits. I didn't get many photos of the wedding itself but I did manage to take a few low key snaps while we were out and about, in and around; the city of Kochi. These photos were taken on a Minolta 404si.

Squad shot. ---


As a group, we were approached for a lot of photos. There were not many foreigners in Kochi and it seemed that we were a bit of a novelty.

Kochi taxi. ---

Taxi portrait. ---

Light and dark at the port. ---

Preparations for a festival. ---

Washed laundry drying in the sea breeze. ---


We visited a laundry in Kochi to see how some of the locals lived. The laundry generated income for its employee's but the conditions were hard and the hours they worked were very long. The laundry managed to generate extra income by giving the guided tours. It was an eye opening and somewhat uncomfortable experience.

Candid snap of my friends on a walk.---

New highway being built. ---


There was a lot of development happening in Kochi and although we witnessed some dire poverty there was also a very fancy, and new mall. The contrast between the new structures and some of the personal suffering was quite extreme.

Fading away. ---


It was a great trip, my first to India, and not my last. It was unlike anywhere I had been before and I was constantly thinking. It was a thought provoking place and it was interesting comparing what I was seeing against my own experiences In Australia and England. ---

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61775.46
ETH 3455.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52