You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Magic and Goodwill

in #photography5 years ago

There is so much love and gratitude in this post! It is literally overflowing!

When Jude was born in 2009 and my mom and I were living together – we started a Xmas tree tradition. When we moved in together, we bought one of those synthetic white trees and we each bought one glass/silver decoration for it… So on our first year, there were only 3 decorations on the tree… one from me, one from my mom and one on Jude’s behalf. We kept up this tradition every year and despite how sparce our tree looked, we knew that one day it would appear anything but!

The last couple of years we have not even put up the xmas tree as we have spent the entire festive season at my dads place in Fisherhaven – but last year, Jude asked to have Xmas at home because he wanted to enjoy it in his own space. The tree we had been using had gotten somewhat long in the tooth and relatively yellowed lol – so last year… even though my mom and I no longer live together, we did collectively decide to do something a little different for Jude’s “Home” Xmas tree. Out the front door of where we live is a long grassy canal stretch which has plenty of pepper trees… so my mom and I cut off a branch and shoved it into one of my wine vases hehe…

The end result was actually really beautiful! But the point of the story was sharing the tradition of each contributing one additional decoration (in silver only) for the tree each year... We have built quite a nice collection over the years! This year, we have bought a white tree, but we have not put it up as yet. I will be sure to share when we do!

Sort:  

Wow! The fact is that I actually do hold a lot of love and gratitude in my heart. I have been fortunate in so many ways through life and it does not get lost on me that things could have been a lot of different. So, although sometimes I probably sound like a soap box to so many people, I cannot help but to spread it again and again and again.

I want to thank you for sharing your story with us. There are so many things that are so telling about it, and I like the fact that you can share yourself so easily with all of us. What a wonderful way to bring up your son.

I love your tradition of each contributing another decoration in silver for the tree each year. I am sure by now there is a massive collection. I can hardly wait to see the white tree with all the beautiful ornaments on it and I look forward to it. Thank you again and I wish you a most wonderful day! And as usual I am running so far behind. Love to you XOXO

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @jaynie! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Magic And Goodwill Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65974.40
ETH 2637.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67