Deranged Photography Contest - 'Birds or Flying Animals' - Chook Chook

in #photography6 years ago

This is my entry into the Amateur photography division of #derangedphotography Deranged Photography Contest run by @derangedvisions. The theme this week is 'Birds or Flying Animals'.

Bee's are flying animals... but I'm not going there this week! ; )

IMG_0368a.jpg

Instead let me introduce you to Chook Chook. He is a Lady Amherst's pheasant that turned up at our house one day. They're not native to Australia and he is believed to be an escapee, more than likely from an Asian family as they like to eat them. They are in fact native to China as well as Burma.

Chook Chook (not named by us) is what we call our fly in, fly out pet. He visits at least two times a day where to comes to get a free feed but he can be seen here all day sometimes. He came a young bird, we thought he was a peacock at first (as we have those wild in the area) but we soon noticed he was quite different to a peacock, especially once he started colouring up.

And here's a bonus photo...

IMG_0369a.jpg

Sort:  

I love the way the background is almost a plain green all blurred but it's still obvious that is vegetation, and also love the backlightning passing thru the feathers. Such great pictures!

Thanks @themonkeyzuelans, I totally planned all of that! Hahaaa, no, no I didn't! That would be my garden in the background and I was just really lucky that the sun just happened to be in the right place at the right time. He is quite skittish, he doesn't stay still and at that point if he saw us he was freak out, making it really difficult to get good photos of him. He taps on our glass door now to let us know he is here although he still won't let us get too close but he is much better than he was a month ago. I took A LOT of photos to get a couple of good ones. ; )

😱 Love the color 🔥😍❤️

Thanks, he is very impressive, I hear the 2nd year of feathers are meant to be more impressive so I look forward to seeing those!!

More impressive then now😱
You must keep us up to date 👊👊😊

I know right... I'm not sure what to expect, maybe fuller brighter feathers, I have no idea...

🍀Let it be a surprise☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13