Wide Open Daily: Day 62

in #photography6 years ago

For todays #wideopendaily I have an interesting object for your viewing pleasure!! We purchased a house in town from and elderly lady and this was one of the things that she left behind when she moved! She traveled the world so who knows where this thing came from!!!

IMG_8877.jpg

Yes it's a shrunken head!!!!!

IMG_8879.jpg

No i don't think its real!!!!! It appears to be cowhide but it sure is creepy!!!!

IMG_8881.jpg

So where do you think this thing originated from!?!? I know this has highly religious significance as shrinking the head of an enemy was believed to harness the spirit of that enemy and compel him to serve the shrinker. It was said to prevent the soul from avenging his death. -Wikipedia

What is Wide Open Daily you ask?

Well..... I've grown tired of trying to come up with something new for the weekly #colorchallenge and many of the other photography prompts I have used here on Steemit over the last year and decided it's time to just do my own thing!

Sooooo....I'm going to challenge myself to take at least one new photo everyday with my Sigma Art 50mm wide open at f/1.4!! I freeking love this lens and the super narrow depth of field it creates when used wide open!

Thanks for checkin' it out!!

Sort:  

Cool, shrunken heads are so interesting but creepy too. Thanks for sharing @jasonrussell!

Wow me parece aterrador

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54523.93
ETH 2291.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35