In Camera HDR VS Manually Bracketed Ozarks Sunset

in #photography6 years ago

This took me a while to figure out!!! My "NEW" Canon 5Diii has this cool HDR feature built into the camera but it took me a few trys to figure out what exactly it was doing! I loaded all the photos into lightroom -- selected them -- Hit combine to HDR and got an error EVERY TIME! Wellllll, i figured out the other night that the camera is ALREADY combining them and creating its own JPG from 3 exposures of it's choice.... To me this is both good and bad....

I tried this out again a couple nights ago looking out across the field behind out house! The first shot here is the in camera HDR JPG that the camera created on its own... The second is my bracketed HDR image, both edited with the same post processing. These are slightly different as I didn't use a tripod or anything, just held the camera still on a fence post! Which to do you like more?

IMG_2508.jpg

IMG_2514-HDR.jpg

To me the in camera image is too saturated, and you don't have full control of the dynamic range at all since it just outputs a JPG immediately!!

Thanks for checkin' it out!

Sort:  

Fantastic looking pictures great colours, I have the canon eos 1300d which is a good camera for me as a beginner. Thanks mike

thanks mike!

2nd by far. I am not a fan of saturation bleed (in most cases).

Thanks man.... I'm not either, i try to keep things looking as natural as possible...

It's very hard to tell... I prefer your second picture, as this one looks a little more realistic. I like the dynamicity of the first photo, but it looks a little bit 'too much', even though very pretty!

My thoughts exactly @thepinksuitcase!! Thanks!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49