Get up Early for the other Golden Hour

in #photography8 years ago

Sure we all know the "early bird gets the worm". But in photography who cares? There is also sunset which offers great light too. But what about that other golden hour? Morning. The problem with sunset is that everyone else is awake and also getting the same shot. 


Sunrise is special

Unless you're that unlucky early worm, sunrise is every bit as great as sunset for photography. The dew is still fresh. Its quiet. Nobody is out. You almost feel like a thief getting the shots you are. Its an effort, though, to drag your ass out of bed before the crack and get out there just to take some pictures. Its oftentimes cold and lonely feeling, but somehow optimistic. I can tell you I have never regretted getting up early to take photos.

You have elbow room.

There is nobody around. You can go where you want and set up the shot you want. There is no guy that got there a second before you and took the shot you wanted and hogged the spot until too late. Missed it. I sometimes feel like a camera nerd.  No reason to feel nerdy in the dark. Just set up, take your time, and pull the trigger. 


If you get up early for another activity like hunting, fishing, camping, surfing or whatever...be sure to take your camera. Its worth the extra effort to stop and get a magical shot. All these shots are mine from various early morning outings and some are specific for photography. I hope you enjoyed.




 




Sort:  

Nice pics, I also truly thrive during the Golden Hours as well. Thanks for the sharing, you sure got my upvote. Maybe you'd also like my travelog that has been, so far, mostly about the Canadian Rockies?

Check it out at http://steemit.com/@eric-boucher

Enjoy and namaste :)

Thanks Eric- I'll check out your page!

Blah, I'm such a night person. Sometimes I see the sunrise... it's totally right before I go to bed if I do though lol.

Classic! The sunrise is your sunset.

Great pics Jason!

Thanks, amigo. Liked yours today, too!

These are wonderful. I'm following you now.

Thanks and thanks for the follow!

As you wrote "The dew is still fresh. Its quiet. Nobody is out." and that is the magic.

For sure! Thats what I love about it...Cheers

There are some awesome shots! It's realy golden hour. First photo is my favorite. Amazing colours!

Thanks. It was actually almost pitch black but the exposure was open for many minutes and picked up some crazy colors.

Beautiful Shots, this is the early morning alpenglow that provides such a soft hue.

Thanks. I love the soft hue but never knew what is was called.

you are so right! i totally agree with your point about sunrises , i ve waken early several times and went to the beach just to capture a sunrise before anyone else does !
By the way your shots are all amazing ... great job and loved your post about sunrises ... you defined exactly why every sunrise is so precious ! Greetings from Greece :)

Thanks for the comment! I bet Greece is great for photography. looks beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71